Zelich picks up a pair of victories at Royal Supercross

CAROGA LAKE –With more than 200 riders signed in, eight local riders topped the podium in supercross action Wednesday night at Royal Mountain.

Johnstown’s Hayden Zelich picked up victories in the schoolboy and 122-125 2-stroke division and placed second in 122-open amateur competition.

Brandon Handy of Johnstown won the 122-250 amateur division, while Mayfield’s Jordan Miller won the quad amateur division and Johstown’s Ethan Cornell topped the field in the mini quad 50 class.

Johnstown Maxx Miller won the mini 60 7-11-year-old division and placed second in Jr. mini and mini 80 9-11.

Gloversville’s Salvatore Attigiato won the 50cc 4-6-year-old competition and placed third in 50cc Open E bike, while St. Johnsville’s Blaire Wilson won the mini quad 51-90 division and placed second in mini quad 50 and Johnstown’s Michael Ward won the Plus-50 open and was second in Plus-30 expert competition.

Johnstown’s Stephen Young placed second in the 122-open and 122-250 novice classes, while Johnstown’s Bennett Melita was second in Mini 80 12-15, schoolboy and pit bike stock and third open mini 10-16.

Kip Simonds of Johnstown placed second in the mini 60 7-11-year-old class and was third in Jr. mini, while Mayfield Chloe VanNostrand was second in mini quad 51-90 and Amsterdam’s Joey Vitalis was runner-up in the pit bike mod competition.

Amsterdam’s Kolby Krutz was runner-up in the quad novice class, while Mayfield Zachary VanNostrand and Andrew Ashbey placed fifth and sixth respectively in the class.

Mia Richards of Amsterdam and Fultonville’s Kendra Cary were second and third respectively in the quad schoolboy class, while Gloversville’s Devin Buyce placed third in schoolboy and fourth in 122-125 2-stroke.

Eric Stumpf of Caroga Lake and Jared Leto of Johnstown placed third and fifth respectively in plus-20 amateur competition, while Broadalbin’s Dan Gifford was fifth in the pit bike mod class.

Anderson Giardino of Johnstown was third in mini quad 50 and St. Johnsville’s Kaci Bare placed third in mini quad 51-90, while Canajoharie’s CJ Renzi placed four in 122-open novice and Burton Wilson Jr placed fourth in 50cc and 50cc Open E bike competition for 4-8 year olds.

Johnstown’s Brennan Hart was fourth and Bradley Russo fifth in the 50cc E-bike 7-8-year-old class, while Amsterdam’s Maverick Manzer placed sixth in 50cc 4-6 competition.

Royal Moutain Supercross

July 21, 2021

122-Open Novice — 1. Zachary Johnson (Salem), 2. Stephen Young (Johnstown), 3. Jacob Shippey, 4. CJ Renzi (Canajoharie), 5. Bryant Gallagher (Clifton Park), 6. Cole Young.

122-125 2-stroke — 1. Hayden Zelich (Johnstown), 2. Brett Unser (Scotia), 3. Joey Metott, 4. Devin Buyce (Gloversville), 5. Brandon Dygert (Nelliston), 6. Marcus Seay.

122-250 Amateur — 1. Brandon Handy (Johnstown), 2. Brett Unser (Scotia), 3. David Nitto (Johnsonville), 4. Dan Barry (Ravena), 5. Charles Rose (Fonda), 6. Anthony Attigliato (Gloversville).

122-250 Expert — 1. Grant Eckardt (Saranac Lake).

122-250 Novice — 1. Mason Haberek (Niverville), 2. Stephen Young (Johnstown), 3. Jacob Shioppey, 4. Tyler Dygert (Canajoharie), 5. Sean Smith (Johnstown), 6. Zachary Johnson (Salem).

122-Open Amateur — 1. David Nitto (Johnsonville), 2. Hayden zelich (Johnstown), 3. Lawrence Havens (Fort Johnson), 4. Dan barry (Ravena), 5. Matthew Abbuhl (Rome), 6. Clay Smith (East Berne).

122-Open Expert — 1. Edward Ladd III (Fort Ann), 2. Grant Eckardt (Saranac Lake).

50 Open/E Bike (4-8) — 1. Ace Moran (Niverville), 2. Ella Moran (Niverville), 3. Salvatore Attigliato (Gloversville), 4. Colton tubbs (Corinth), 5. Burton Wilson Jr. (St. Johnsville), 6. Hunter Broe (Queensbury).

50cc (4-6) — 1. Salvatore Attigiato (Gloversville), 2. Colton Tubbs (Corinth), 3. Hunter Broe (Queensbury), 4. Burton Wilson Jr. (St. Johnsville), 5. Connor Hallenbeck, 6. Maverick Manzer (Amsterdam).

50cc E Bike (7-8) — 1. Max Diers (Saugerties), 2. Ella Moran (Niverville), 3. Ace Moran (Niverville), 4. Brennan Hart (Johnstown), 5. Bradley Russo (Johnstown).

Jr. Mini (9-11) — 1. Caiden West (Freehold), 2. Maxx Miller (Johnstown), 3. Kip Simonds (Johnstown), 4. Finn Smith (East Berne), 5. Kolt Wojtowecz (Middle Grove), 6. Eason Baker (Pattersonville).


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)


Starting at $4.15/week.

Subscribe Today