Class of 2021 Glen Ridge Hall of Fame inductees announced

Leader-Herald columinist James A. Ellis joins Jake Spraker, Mike Romano, Bobby Varin, Dan Kingsley, Dave Joslin and Angela Hanson

FULTONVILLE — The old saying that “good things come to those who wait” took on a whole new meaning in the Motorsports world in 2020. With the COVID-19 restrictions in place at the state and local levels many traditional activities were forced to be cancelled or postponed.

One of those was the enshrinement of the Third Glen Ridge Motorsports Park Hall of Fame Class. Following inductions in 2018 and 2019, it was decided that the 2020 class would be combined with the 2021 class.

Chosen by the Glen Ridge Motorsports Park Hall of Fame Committee, the 2021 class was finalized on Wednesday evening. With the 2020 inductions rolling over into the 2021 class, this year’s class was expanded from the maximum five inductees to seven.

As it has since its inception in 2018, the committee is made up of track co-promoter Butch Hazzard, local announcer and long-time journalist Toby LaGrange, local head starter Joe Kriss and veteran journalists Jim Ellis and Ed Biittig, Sr.

The Glen Ridge Motorsports Park Class of 2021 consists of former track promoters Jake Spraker and Mike Romano, the tracks all-time leading Modified feature winner Bobby Varin, Leader-Herald sports journalist James A. Ellis, former head starter Dan Kingsley, track supporter and car owner Dave Joslin and former track official Angela Hanson.

Bios for each inductee will be released in the days leading up to the Aug. 22 induction ceremony.

For more information on the Glen Ridge Motorsports Park Hall of Fame please check out their Facebook page at www.facebook.com/grmphof or the track website atwww.glenridge2019.com.


Starting at $4.15/week.

Subscribe Today