Several area golfers named WAC all-stars

Northville-Mayfield's Tyler Maples shared Western Athletic Conference North Division Most Valuable Player honors. (The Leader-Herald/Paul Wager)

Several area golfers were among those named to the recently announced Western Athletic Conference all-star team.

Northville/Mayfield’s Tyler Maples and Fort Plain’s Evan Crouse shared Most Valuable Player honors in the North Division, while Fonda-Fultonville’s Colin Kowalski was named the South Division MVP.

Fort Plain’s Troy Butler, Canajoharie’s Jack Krug, Northville/Mayfield’s Jordan Miller, Canajoharie’s Riley Montanye, Galway’s Sam Neahr and Galway’s Matt Smith were named first-team North Division all-stars.

Northville/Mayfield had George Abdella and Andrew Cordone named to the second team, while Canajoharie’s Tyler Montanye and Kyle Oertel also earned second-team honors.

Rounding out the North Division second team were Oppenheim-Ephratah/St. Johnsville’s Brandon Hulten and Galway’s Eric Zelezniak.

Fonda-Fultonville's Colin Kowalski was named Most Valuable Player of the Western Athletic Conference South Division. (The Leader-Herald/James A. Ellis)

Fonda-Fultonville had Alex Saltsman, Cayden Egelston and Noah Moran named second-team South Division all-stars.

The first-team South Division all-stars included Berne-Knox-Westerlo’s Will Boltri, Middleburgh’s John Bruno, Duanesburg’s Matt Coons, Duanesburg’s John Grant, Schoharie’s Luke Morganstein and Schoharie’s John Polley.

Rounding out the South Division second-team all-stars were Schoharie’s Ethan Drinon, Schoharie’s Haley Drinon, Middleburgh’s Josh Reinhart and Berne-Knox-Westerlo’s Caleb Schrader.

2020 Western Athletic Conference Golf All-Stars

North Division

Fort Plain's Evan Crouse shared Western Athletic Conference North Division Most Valuable Player honors. (The Leader-Herald/Paul Wager)

Co-MVP: Evan Crouse (Fort Plain), Tyler Maples (Northville/Mayfield)

First Team

Troy Butler (Fort Plain), Jack Krug (Canajoharie), Jordan Miller (Northville/Mayfield), Riley Montanye (Canajoharie), Sam Neahr (Galway), Matt Smith (Galway)

Second Team

George Abdella (Northville/Mayfield), Andrew Cordone (Northville/Mayfield), Brandon Hulten (Oppenheim-Ephratah/St. Johnsville), Tyler Montanye (Canajoharie), Kyle Oertel (Canajoharie), Eric Zelezniak (Galway)

South Division

MVP: Colin Kowalski (Fonda-Fultonville)

First Team

Will Boltri (Berne-Knox-Westerlo), John Bruno (Middleburgh), Matt Coons (Duanesburg), John Grant (Duanesburg), Luke Morganstein (Schoharie), John Polley (Schoharie)

Second Team

Ethan Drinon (Schoharie), Haley Drinon (Schoharie), Cayden Egelston (Fonda-Fultonville), Noah Moran (Fonda-Fultonville), Josh Reinhart (Middleburgh), Alex Saltsman (Fonda-Fultonville), Caleb Schrader (Berne-Knox-Westerlo)


Starting at $4.15/week.

Subscribe Today