Ochs claims first feature win at The Ridge

Cody Ochs celebrates in Victory Lane after picking up his first career feature win Sunday in the Red Chair Crate 602 Sportsman feature at Glen Ridge Motorsports Park. (The Leader-Herald/james A. Ellis)

FULTONVILLE — Eight weeks into the season at Glen Ridge Motorsports Park and there is yet to be a two-time winner in the Red Chair 602 Crate Sportsman division.

Sunday night, Cody Ochs became the eighth different driver in as many weeks to take home the feature win in the premiere division at The Ridge.

He was joined in Victory Lane on Yurkewecz Auto Crushers Night by Andy Graves (DIRTcar Pro Stocks), James Venditti, (Limited Sportsman) and Adam Tranka (Street Stocks). Josh Kane won his eighth-straight DOHC Mini Stock division feature this season, while Wayne Russell Jr. took home the SOHC Mini Stock trophy.

Danny Ballard garnered the victory in the Northeast Paving and Sealcoat All-Star Slingshot division and Frank Twing Jr. raced to victory in the Northeast Paving and Sealcoat Junior Slingshot division.

The 30-lap Crate Sportsman feature got off to a rocky start as a multi car pileup between turns one and two gathered up defending race winner Andrew Buff and Tony Farone among several top contenders.

The Leader-Herald/James A. Ellis All-Star Slingshot feature winner Danny Ballard, right, celebrates in Victory Lane Sunday at Glen Ridge Motorsports Park with his son and pro stock driver Beau, left, and grandson and future racer Parker.

Farone was able to drive away from the wreck as was Tucker O’Connor, bill August and Joe Orlando. Buff was towed pitside and after quick repairs was able to rejoin the field.

With the reshuffled lineup, Ochs was able to get out front with Travis Green and Justin Buff in pursuit.

The caution flew on lap seven with division points leader Scott McCoy had the left front tire sheared off his mount, ending his night.

Ochs maintained his advantage on the restart with Green, Justin Buff, Jason Reome and August close behind.

Farone recovered from the opening-lap melee to move into fourth on lap seven as the top four drivers broke away from the rest of the pack.

As the leaders began encountering lapped traffic, Green made a bid for the lead but Ochs timed his move past the lapped car of Reome to block Green and pull away for his first career victory at The Ridge.

Green held on for second over Farone with August fourth and Andrew Buff recovering to finish fifth.

Tanner Warner showed the DIRTcar Pro Stock field the fast way around the speedway on the opening lap before Graves wreslted the spot away on the second circuit.

As Warner battled with Beau Ballard, Justin Knight, Luke Horning and Ivan Joslin to hold on to the second spot, Graves pulled away to a straightaway lead at the halfway point.

Graves’ advantage disappeared with the caution flew on lap 11.

Warner took his car pitside under the caution, moving Knight, Horning and Ballard up to Graves’ back bumper.

Horning put in a strong bid for the lead before sliding up out of the groove in the first turn with less than five laps to go, giving Graves the break he needed to go from the wrecker Saturday night at Fonda to the checkers on Sunday night at The Ridge.

Horning came home in second with Ballard third, Joslin fourth and Buck Gasner fifth.

Sloan Cherko recovered from a horrific flip last week to lead the Junior Slingshot feature before Twing found a way past with four laps to go to to grab his fourth win of the season. Cherko held off Lucas Duncan for second with Liam Jackson and Corky Warner round out the top five.

Tucker Jones and Darryn Fallis battled for the early lead in the All-Star Slingshot feature with Danny Ballard and Mike Hill locked in a battle for the third spot behind them.

Ballard found a way to the front by the midway point and held off Nick Auspelmyer for his second-straight victory. Fallis came home in third with Mike Hill fourth and Tavien Blowers fifth.

Venditti grabbed the lead away from Carter Gibbons on lap seven of the 15-lap Limited Sportsman feature and romp to his second-straight victory. Gibbons crossed under the checkers ahead of Troy Ziles, Stephen Gray, Issac Walker, Garrett Poland, Joseph Venditti and Tim Billington.

Adam Tranka scored his third win of the season in the street stocks defeating Kenny Allen, Damon Anderson and Harley Shepard.

Ken Hollenbeck was alongside Kane when the caution flew on the final lap of the cruiser division feature for debris on the speedway setting up a one-lap shootout for the victory.

Hollenbeck made a strong run on the outside of Kane between turns three and four but kane had enough to score a 1/2-car length victory over Hollenbeck. Early-race leader Billy Hillman was third with Kerrie Hollenbeck fourth, followed by Brandon Tyler, Pat McSpirit and Gina Voris.

Russell was fifth under the checkers and the first single-cam cruiser in the finishing order. Dale VanAllen was second followed by Ray Young, Zach McSpirit, William Cook Jr. Shaun Hemstreet and Matt Galusha.

Glen Ridge Motorsports Park

August 2, 2020 Results

Yurkewecz Auto Crushers Night, The Red Chair DIRTcar Racing 602 Crate Sportsman — Cody Ochs, Travis Green, Tony Farone, Billy August, Andrew Buff, Justin Buff, Dave Richer, Brendan Gibbons, Jason Reome, Ryan Heath, Scott McCoy, Tucker O’Connor, Joe Orlando.

Yurkewecz Auto Crushers Night DIRTcar Racing Pro-Stocks — Andy Graves, Luke Horning, Beau Ballard, Ivan Joslin, Buck Gasner, Justin Knight, Don Collins, Ken Griffin, Matt Groncki, Tanner Warner.

Yurkewecz Auto Crushers Night Limited Sportsman — James Venditti, Carter Gibbons, Troy Zilles, Stephen Gray, Isaac Walker, Garrett Poland, Joseph Venditti, Tim Billington.

Yurkewecz Auto Crushers Night Street Stocks — Adam Tranka, Ken Allen, Damon Anderson, Harley Shepard.

Yurkewecz Auto Crushers Night Single Cam Mini Stock — Wayne Russell Jr, Dale VanAllen, Ray Young, Zach McSpirit, William Cook Jr, Shaun Hemstreet, Matt Galusha.

Yurkewecz Auto Crushers Night Dual Cam Mini Stock — Josh Kane, Ken Hollenbeck, Billy Hillman, Kerrie Hollenbeck, Brandon Tyler, Pat McSpirit, Gina Voris.

Yurkewecz Auto Crushers Night Northeast Paving and Sealcoat All-Star Slingshots — Danny Ballard, Nick Auspelmyer, Darryn Fallis, Mike Hill, Tavien Blowers, Tyler Vadney, Joe Smith, Conner Hill, Brock Pinkerous, Tucker Jones, Bob Morey, Andrew Millard, Scott Sprague, Nick Millard, Spencer Cherko, Tyler Holcomb.

Yurkewecz Auto Crushers Night Northeast Paving and Sealcoat Junior Slingshots — Frank Twing Jr, Sloan Cherko, Lucas Duncan, Liam Jackson, Corky Warner, Ryan McCoy, Cole Conrad, Hayden Ackernecht.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)


Starting at $4.75/week.

Subscribe Today