McCoy scores second win of the season at The Ridge

FULTONVILLE — After starting the season with nine different winners in as many weeks in the 602 sportsman division, three drivers have posted their second wins of the season in each of the last three weeks.

On Sunday, it was Scott McCoy posting his second win of the season.

Also picking up wins Sunday were Ivan Joslin (pro stock), Stephen Gray (limited sportman), Damon Anderson (street stock), Nick Auspelmyer (all-star slingshots), Liam Jackson (junior slingshots), Josh Kane (mini stock – dual cam), Jamie Warner (mini stock – single cam) and Mike Coffey Jr. (enduro).

McCoy, who started fourth in the 21-car feature, worked his way to the front near the midway point of the 30-lap feature.

McCoy held off a late-race charge from Andrew Buff, who finished second.

Tony Farone was third, Travis Green was fourth and Tucker O’Connor was fifth.

Rounding out the top 10 were Mark Mortensen, Cody Ochs, Justin Buff, Ryan Heath and Joe Orlando.

Andrew Buff, Bill August and Ochs collected heat race wins.

In the 20-lap pro stock feature, Joslin and Stone battled side-by-side over the final few laps, with Joslin emerging with his second victory of the season.

Stone was second, Jim Normoyle was third, Luke Horning was fourth and Devon Camenga was fifth. Jay Fitzgerald, Buck Gasner, Beau Ballard, Steve Cosselman and Dave Stickles completed the top 10.

Horning and Stone won the pro stock heat races.

Gray claimed his fourth win of the season in the 20-lap limited sportsman feature.

Carter Gibbons was second, Troy Zilles was third, Garrett Poland was fouth and Tanner Warner completed the top five.

Rounding out the top 10 were Taylor LaPlante, Joseph Venditti, Pete Lorenzo, Paul DeRuyter and Isaac Walker.

Lorenzo and Zilles won the heat races.

In the 15-lap street stock feature, Anderson collected his fifth win of the season.

Fonda Speedway track champion Jason Samrov was second, Chris Stalker was third, Cliff Booth was fourth and Adam Tranka was fifth.

A large field of 23 cars took the green flag for the 15-lap all-star slingshot feature, which was also Super National Event for the Empire Region.

Auspelmyer charged quickly to the front from his fifth-place starting spot to collect his second win of the season in the division.

Shelby McLaughlin was second, Danny Ballard was third, Andrew Turpin was fourth and Tucker Jones was fifth.

Rounding out the top 10 were Tyler Vadney, Darryn Fallis, Don Boonstra, Joe Smith and Jim Pollard.

McLaughlin, Jones and Auspelmyer were the heat race winners.

The 12-lap junior slingshot feature featured a wild finish.

Brock Pinkerous and Aidan Donaldson were locked in a side-by-side battle over the last two laps and the two collected one another in turn four coming to the checkered flag. Jackson capitalized, sneaking by on the outside to go from third to first, earning his second win of the season.

Matt Backus was second, Frank Twing Jr. was third, Lucas Duncan was fourth and James Hendricks was fifth. Sloan Cherko, Donaldson, Pinkerous, Evan O’Hara and Ryan McCoy completed the top 10.

Cherko and Jackson were the heat race winners.

Kane continued his season-long dominance in the mini stock division, claiming the overall win and the dual stock victory. It was his ninth win of the season.

Kane had to work for the win, holding off a race-long challenge from Josh Samrov, who finished second overall and in the dual-cam class.

Gina Voris, Billy Hillman and Pat McSpirit completed the top five in the dual-cam class.

Jamie Warner won the mini stock single-cam class, with Daniel Joubert, Ray Young, Lee Horning and Wayne Russell Jr. completing the top five.

In the final race of the night, Coffey topped Charlie Yurkewecz and Jonathan Mason to win the Bear Muffler enduro.

Glen Ridge will be back in action next Sunday with a regular card. Track championships will be decided in the 602 sportsman, limited sportsman and pro stock classes. The Mohawk Valley Vintage Dirt Modified Series also will be part of the card.

Racing is slated to begin at 6 p.m.

On Sept. 13, the street stock, junior slingshot, all-star slingshot and mini stock champions will be crowned.

Glen Ridge Motorsports Park

Aug. 30 Results

Riley Mortuary Night

The Red Chair DIRTcar Racing 602 Sportsman: Scott McCoy, Andrew Buff, Tony Farone, Travis Green, Tucker O’Connor, Mark Mortensen, Cody Ochs, Justin Buff, Ryan Heath, Joe Orlando, Jason Reome, Brendan Gibbons, Emmett Waldron, Alex VanPelt, Elliott Lussier, Bill August, Al McCoy, Thomas VanVorst, Ryan Stortini, Aaron Jacobs, Jerry Cohn.

Yurkewecz Auto Crushers DIRTcar Racing Pro-Stocks: Ivan Joslin, Nick Stone, Jim Normoyle, Luke Horning, Devon Camenga, Jay Fitzgerald, Buck Gasner, Beau Ballard, Steve Cosselman, Dave Stickles, Don Collins, Matt Groncki, Andy Graves, Ken Griffin, Charlie Yurkewecz, Doug Sheely.

Limited Sportsman: Stephen Gray, Carter Gibbons, Troy Zilles, Garrett Poland, Tanner Warner, Taylor LaPlante, Joseph Venditti, Pete Lorenzo, Paul DeRuyter, Isaac Walker, Darren Sperbeck, James Venditti, Brett Mortensen.

Street Stocks: Damon Anderson, Jason Samrov, Chris Stalker, Cliff Booth, Adam Tranka, Janai St. Pierre, Harley Shepard, Kenny Allen, John Denue.

Single Cam Mini Stock: Jamie Warner, Daniel Joubert, Ray Young, Lee Horning, Wayne Russell Jr, Shaun Hemstreet, Corbin Lavoy.

Dual Cam Mini Stock: Josh Kane, Josh Samrov, Gina Voris, Billy Hillman, Pat McSpirit, Brandon Tyler, Matt Tedrow.

Northeast Paving and Sealcoat All-Star Slingshots: Nick Auspelmyer, Shelby McLaughlin, Dan Ballard, Andrew Turpin, Brett Putnam, Mike Hill, Tucker Jones, Tyler Vadney, RJ Sherman, Darryn Fallis, Don Boonstra, Jim Gage, Joe Smith, Jim Pollard, Blaine King, Ashton DeWitt, Mason Pittenger, Scott Sprague, Bob Morey, Dan Slosek, Brock Pinkerous, Spencer Cherko, Tyler Holcomb, Conner Hill.

Northeast Paving and Sealcoat Junior Slingshots: Liam Jackson, Matt Backus, Frank Twing Jr, Lucas Duncan, James Hendricks, Sloan Cherko, Aidan Donaldson, Brock Pinckerous, Evan O’Hara. Ryan McCoy, Joshua Landers, Corky Warner, Hayden Ackerknecht, Cole Conrad, Kai DeWitt.

Bear Muffler Enduro, Special Thanks Mike Sowle & Sowle Trailer Repair: Mike Coffey Jr, Charlie Yurkewecz, Jonathan Mason,


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)


Starting at $4.75/week.

Subscribe Today