Sports Women of the Year event Aug. 18

SCHENECTADY — The Capital District Sports Women of the Year, Inc. has announced that the inaugural CDSWOY Awards Event will take place at The Desmond Hotel Albany, 660 Albany Shaker Road, Albany, NY on Tuesday, August 18, 2020 at 6:00 p.m.

Due to the coronavirus Phase 4 stage in the Capital District of The State of New York, the event will be limited to the award winners and their parents in attendance and not the general public. Individuals will feature social distancing and masks at the facility. However, the event will feature a live web stream video at CDSWOY.COM beginning at 5:45 p.m. Details and registration for the video will be posted soon.

The awards event will feature the presentations of awards to 10 high school honorees and three college honorees. Each student will be honored for outstanding academic performance, excellent athletic success, and remarkable service to our community. The event will culminate with the announcement of the Grand Scholastic Sports Woman of the Year and Grand Collegiate Sports Woman of the Year. Selections from numerous nominees were made by members of the Capital District media at a private luncheon.

“I am thrilled that our first-ever Awards Event will be held in August,” said Eric McDowell, President of the Capital District Sports Women of the Year, Inc., in a news release. “While we will have the awards recipients and their parents on site, we will also feature a live video for all other family members, teammates and other friends to watch these ladies receive their well-deserved honors. We thank The Desmond Hotel Albany for providing us the opportunity in these trying times.”

The 2020 Capital District Sports Women of the Year Awards Event was originally scheduled to take place on May 12, but that was postponed due to the coronavirus.

CDSWOY announced a total of 10 scholastic and three collegiate award recipients beginning March 10.

The high school honorees include Taconic Hills’ Amelia Canetto, Stillwater’s Brooke Pickett joins Rensselaer’s MacKenzie Brown, South Glens Falls’ Lauren Willis, Averill Park’s Lydia Ware, Northville’s Brytney Moore, Galway’s Rachel Wnuk, Middleburgh’s Makenzie Terrell, Lake George’s Rachel Hunsicker and Fort Edward’s Morgan Fish.

Sage’s Megan Flynn, RPI’s Liz Brady and Morgan Burchhardt of the College of Saint Rose are the three collegiate honorees.

For questions about this event or other information, email at cdswoy@gmail.com or call President Eric McDowell at (518) 588-8016.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)