Fonda Speedway to host Hondo Classic

Nick Stone (27) and Josh Coonradt race during pro stock action at Fonda Speedway on June 15, 2019. Coonradt won last year's Hondo Classic, while Stone is a four-time winner of the event, which is scheduled for tonight. (The Leader-Herald/James A. Ellis)


Fonda Speedway

FONDA – Today, at the “Track of Champions” Fonda Speedway, Sampson Motorcar and Yellow Transportation present a racing card headlined by the 15th annual “Hondo Classic” for the Algonkin Pro Stocks paying a minimum of $1,000 to win.

The Hondo Classic is named for Hondo Carpenter, a popular competitor in the Pro Stock division at the Fonda Speedway who lost his life in an ATV accident on July 4, 2005. Each year dozens of supporters of this event contribute to the bonus money that is awarded along with the track purse. According to the competitors, the money is always welcome but the big draw to the event is the bragging rights.

The first annual Hondo Classic was won by Jim Burton in 2006. Nick Stone is a four-time winner of the event in 2007, 2008, 2016 and 2017 while Kenny Gates is a three-time winner of the event in 2009, 2015 and 2018. Pete Broderson has won the event twice in 2012 and 2014 while Chip Smith (2010), Rob Yetman (2011), Kenny Martin, Jr (2013) and Josh Coonradt (2019) each have one win in the event along with Burton.

Also, on the racing card will be the Sunoco modifieds, the Swagger Factory Apparel Crate 602 sportsman, the Montgomery County Office for Aging limited sportsman, the Roberts Towing & Recovery street stocks, and the four-cylinder cruisers.

The Infield Drive-In will be open today ($60, first-come, first-served, includes four limited participant passes) or you can watch all the action on Dirt Track Digest TV pay per view.

 The grandstands will be closed for this event.

Pit gate admission will be $30 for Fonda members and $35 for non-members.

Gates will open at 4 p.m. with hot laps at 6:20 p.m. and racing at 7 p.m.


Fonda Speedway history for the week of 7/11

Five years ago, on July 11, 2015, the winners at Fonda were Bobby Varin (Modified), Mark Mortensen (Crate 602 Sportsman), Kenny Gates (Pro Stock), Johnny Young (Street Stock), Ken Hollenback (four-cylinder cruisers).

Ten years ago, on July 10, 2010, the winners at Fonda were Ryan Odasz (Modified), Luke Munroe (Open Sportsman), Chip Smith (Hondo Classic for Pro Stocks), Chuck McSpirit (Street Stock), George Catanzano (IMCA), Jeremiah Munson (Crate 602 sportsman).

 Fifteen years ago, on July 9, 2005, the winners at Fonda were Butchie Irwin (Pro Stock), Rocky Warner (Street Stock), George Catanzano (IMCA), and Jeff Richards (Northeastern Vintage Dirt Modifieds). The Modified and Open Sportsman events were both rain delayed.

 Twenty years ago on July 8, 2000, the winners at Fonda were Dave Lape (Modified), Mike Frasier (Open Sportsman), Rob Noviczski (Pro Stock), Rob VanAernam (Street Stock “A”), Dave Horning Jr. (Street Stock “B”), George Catanzano (IMCA) and Laurie Fallis (Powder Puff).

Since 1953, the ‘Track of Champions’ Fonda Speedway has hosted the best in stock car racing.

Under the management of BD Motorsports Media LLC, the speedway operates weekly on Saturday nights from April through August plus several special events. Fonda Speedway is located on the Montgomery County Fairgrounds off New York State Thruway Exit No. 28 at 21 S. Bridge Street Fonda, NY 12068.

Fonda Speedway is on the web at www.thefondaspeedway.com.

To learn more, call the office at (518) 915-4395, like Fonda Speedway on Facebook www.facebook.com/thefondaspeedwy or follow on Twitter: @thefondaspdwy. 


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)