Buff becomes seventh different 602 feature winner this year at The Ridge

FULTONVILLE– Andrew Buff and Nick Stone capped off successful weekends of racing Sunday night at Glen Ridge Motorsports Park.

Buff picked up the sportsman division victory Friday night at Albany-Saratoga Speedway and kept the momentum going in his favor Sunday, capturing the 30-lap Red Chair 602 Crate Sportsman feature at The Ridge.

Stone followed suit, also winning at Albany-Saratoga Friday before powering his way to victory in the Yurkewecz Auto Crushers Pro Stock feature on Catalytic Recovery Night at Glen Ridge Motorsports Park.

James Venditti took home the Limited Sportsman victory, while Damon Anderson won the Street Stock main and Josh Kane and Dale VanAllen respectively won the Mini Stock dual and single came features.

Frank Twing Jr. picked up his third win of the season in the Northeast Paving and Sealcoat Junior Slingshot division and Spencer Cherko topped the podium in the Northeast Paving and Sealcoat All-Star Slingshot main event.

Tucker O’Connor and Cody Ochs brought the field of 18 602 Crate Sportsmen to the green with O’Connor gaining the early advantage.

Buff used the high side of the speedway to move from his fifth starting spot into the lead on the fourth lap.

Buff survived challenges from O’Connor, Scott McCoy and Travis Green in a series of restarts.

Buff built a solid lead and needed all of it as the frontrunners encountered heaving traffic in the final 10 laps.

McCoy used the traffic to his advantage, getting past O’Connor with two laps left but could not run down Buff before he became the seventh different winner in as many weeks.

O’Connor held off Green and Justin Buff for third. Ochs, Tony Farone, Bill August, Don Bellen and Joe Orlando round out the top 10.

Beau Ballard set the early pace over Aiden Demorest and Ivan Joslin. Stone picked his way from his eighth starting spot into fourth before the caution flew on lap four.

Ballard chose to restart on the outside of the front row with Stone directly behind him.

The move worked as Ballard held Stone at bay until the leaders encountered lapped traffic, which Stone used to get past Ballard with eight laps to go.

Ballard had a final shot at the leader when the caution flew with five laps remaining.

With a clear track in front of him, Stone pulled away, leaving Ballard to battle with Luke Horning for the runner-up spot.

Stone passed under to checkers to collect his third win of the season at The Ridge along with the big payday of $1,100 from Yurkewecz Auto Crushers and a winner’s bonus from the Man With The Red Chair.

Ballard held on for second followed by Horning, Joslin and Justin Knight. Andy graves, Ken Griffin, Buck Gasner, Don Collins and Shane Playford round out the top 10.

Ken Allen led the opening lap of the 15-lap street stock feature before Anderson took the lead on the second circuit.

Anderson held off Adam Tranka for the victory, while Kaleb Shepard, Allen and Harley Shepard complete the running order.

Josh Samrov showed the combined field of 14 mini stocks the fast way around the speedway for the first two laps before Kane took the point on a lap three restart.

Samrov and Cole Lawton kept Kane within striking distance as they battled for second.

Kane was first under the checkers for the sixth time this season, with Samrov holding off Lawton for second with Brandon Tyler fourth.

VanAllen was fifth under the checkers and the first single-cam cruiser.

Venditti and Stephen Gray waged a race-long battle for the top spot in the limited sportsman feature with Venditti leading all but one lap as Gray edged him to lead lap 16.

Venditti got the lead back a lap later and held on in a one-lap shootout to notch his first win of the season.

Gray crossed the line second with Pete Lorenzo III third, Troy Zilles fourth and Carter Gibbons fifth.

Corky Warner grabbed the early lead in the Junior Slingshot feature before contact between Warner and Brock Pinkerous sent Warner spinning in front of the field.

The race was red flagged as Sloan Cherko got caught up in the melee and barrel rolled her slingshot after making hard contact with the first turn wall. She was uninjured in the accident.

With Warner and Pinkerous restarting at the back of the pack, Liam Jackson took over the top spot with Lucas Duncan and Twing in close pursuit.

Twing made his move with three laps remaining, hitting the finish line in a dead-heat with Jackson before pulling ahead to record his third win of the season. Jackson turned back a late challenge from Duncan to finish second with Cole Conrad fourth and Pinkerous fifth.

Nick Auspelmyer led the opening 11 laps of the 15-lap All-Star Slingshot feature before Cherko won a two-lap side-by-side battle to take the point with two laps to go. Danny Ballard found his way past Auspelmyer to grab the runner-up spot behind Cherko. Mike Hill was fourth with Tavien Blowers fifth.

Glen Ridge Motorsports Park

July 26th, 2020 Racing Results

Catalytic Recovery Red Chair DIRTcar Racing 602 Crate Sportsman: Andrew Buff, Scott McCoy, Tucker O’Connor, Travis Green, Justin Buff, Cody Ochs, Tony Farone, Bill August, Don Bellen, Joe Orlando, Kathy Bellen, Ryan Heath, Brendan Gibbons, Jerry Cohn, Dave Richer, Aaron Jacobs, Jason Reome, Alex VanPelt.

Catalytic Recovery Yurkewecz Auto Crushers DIRTcar Racing Pro-Stocks: Nick Stone, Beau Ballard, Luke Horning, Ivan Joslin, Justin Knight, Andy Graves, Ken Griffin, Buck Gasner, Don Collins, Shane Playford, Matthew Groncki, Dave Demorest, Tanner Warner, Aiden Demorest.

Catalytic Recovery Limited Sportsman: James Venditti, Stephen Gray, Pete Lorenzo III, Troy Zilles, Carter Gibbons, Garrett Poland, Shane Larman, Joe Venditti, Tim Billington, Isaac Walker, Teddy Starr.

Catalytic Recovery Street Stocks: Damon Anderson, Adam Tranka, Kaleb Shepard, Ken Allen, Harley Shepard.

Catalytic Recovery Single Cam Mini Stock: Dale VanAllen, Zach McSpirit, Wayne Russell Jr, Todd Morey, Ray Young, Mike Haman, TJ Marlitt.

Catalytic Recovery Dual Cam Mini Stock: Josh Kane, Josh Samrov, Cole Lawton, Brandon Tyler, Pat McSpirit, Kerrie Hollenbeck, Gina Voris.

Catalytic Recovery Northeast Paving and Sealcoat All-Star Slingshots: Spencer Cherko, Dan Ballard, Nick Auspelmyer, Mike Hill, Tavien Blowers, Darryn Fallis, Conner Hill, Devin Pierce, Brett Putnam, Slappy White, Bob Morey, Scott Sprague, Jim Pollard, Brock Pinkerous, Tucker Jones, Tyler Vadney, Jim Gage, Joe Smith, Nick Millard.

Catalytic Recovery Northeast Paving and Sealcoat Junior Slingshots: Frank Twing Jr, Liam Jackson, Lucas Duncan, Cole Conrad, Brock Pinkerous, Corky Warner, Ryan McCoy, Hayden Ackernecht, Sloan Cherko.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)