Travis Green collects first feature win at The Ridge

FULTONVILLE — Travis Green came up one spot short of a feature win on opening night at the Glen Ridge Motorsports Park.

Sunday, Green returned and led all 30 laps of the 602 Sportsman Modified feature to claim his first career victory at The Ridge on VP Small Engines Fuels Night.

Nick Stone grabbed the lead early in the 20 lap Pro Stock feature and withstood race-long pressure from Luke Horning and Andy Graves to notch his second-straight victory of the year and 26th of his career at Glen Ridge.

Troy Zilles picked up his second-straight win of the season in the Limited Sportsman feature, while Josh Kane and Wayne Russell Jr. picked up the victories in the Dual and Single Cam Cruiser division wins.

Mike Hill got the victory over Danny Ballard in the All-Star Slingshot main event, while Brock Pinkerous was first under the checkers in the Junior Slingshots but was disqualified in post race tech giving Lucas Duncan his third career victory.

With no fans in the stands due to COVID-19 mandates on large gatherings of people, Green and last-weeks winner Tony Farone brought the field of 11 Red Chair DIRTcar sportsmen to the green flag, with Green grabbing the lead, while Farone battled with Tucker O’Connor for second.

With green-flag racing over the first half of the feature Green was able to build a significant lead over O’Connor as Billy August and Andrew Buff made their way into the top five, while Scott McCoy, Cody Ochs and Justin Buff battled for position behind Farone.

The second half of the race was marred by six cautions including three in the final three laps setting up shootouts for the win between Green and O’Connor, which Green was able to have enough to hold off the challenges to record his first career win at The Ridge.

O’Connor held on for second with August third, Ochs fourth and Justin Buff fifth.

Stone and Justin Knight brought the field of 12 Yurkewecz Auto Crushers Pro Stocks to the green flag with Stone having a bumper ahead of Knight at the end of the opening lap with Horning and Graves on the back bumpers.

Horning moved up to challenge Stone before Graves pulled into the runner-up spot.

Stone had enough to hold off the challenges and record his second-straight win of the year at Glen Ridge. Horning got back into second, while Knight, Beau Ballard and Graves wrapped up the top five.

Zilles had little trouble recording his second-straight feature win in the Limited Sportsman division. Zilles started on the pole and led the 20-lap feature green-to-checkers, while Stephan Gray, Isaac Walker, Garrett Polland, Pete Lorenzo and Tim Billington complete the order of finish.

Kane and Billy Hillman ran one-two for the majority of the caution-marred Cruiser division feature with Kane being the first car under the checkers to claim the dual cam division trophy. Hillman was the first single-cam under the checkers but was later disqualified in post-race tech, giving the victory to Russell.

The Northeast Paving and Sealcoating junior slingshot feature was red flagged on the second lap with contact between Pinkerous and Duncan put Duncan facing the wrong way at the exit of turn two. In a scramble to avoid Duncan’s ride, Ryan McCoy’s slingshot ended up upside down as he, Tavien Blowers, Gordon Smith and Corky Warner all took evasive action. McCoy was uninjured in the accident but was done for the night as was Blowers as Smith and Warner were able to continue.

Sloan Cherko took over the top spot and led two laps before Pinkerous moved to the point.

After leading the final seven laps, Pinkerous came up light on the scales giving Duncan his third career victory. Cherko was second with Smith third, Frank Twing Jr. fourth and Warner fifth.

Mike Hill, Connor Hill, Ballad, Brett Putnam and Tucker Jones staged a five-way battle for the early lead in the Northeast Paving & Sealcoating All-Star Slingshot division with Mike Hill holding on for the victory over Ballard, Putnam, Tyler Vadney and Darryn Fallis.

June 21st, 2020 Racing Results

VP Small Engines Fuels Night Red Chair DIRTcar 602 Sportsman: Travis Green, Tucker O’Connor, Bill August, Cody Ochs, Justin Buff, Scott McCoy, Ryan Heath, Joe Orlando, Andrew Buff, Tony Farone, Brendan Gibbons.

VP Small Engines Fuels Night Yurkewecz Auto Crushers DIRTcar Pro-Stocks: Nick Stone, Luke Horning, Justin Knight, Beau Ballard, Andy Graves, Buck Gasner, David Demorest, Tanner Warner, Matt Groncki, Ivan Joslin, John Linblade, Ken Griffin.

VP Small Engines Fuels Night Limited Sportsman: Troy Zilles, Stephan Gray, Isaac Walker, Garrett Poland, Pete Lorenzo, Tim Billington.

VP Small Engines Fuels Night Street Stocks: Damon Anderson, Adam Tranka, Jesse Murphy, Chris Murphy, Ken Allen.

VP Small Engines Fuels Night Single Cam Mini Stock: Wayne Russell Jr, Dale VanAllen, Justin Bellinger, Zach McSpirit, Pat McSpirit, William Cook Jr.

VP Small Engines Fuels Night Dual Cam Mini Stock: Josh Kane, Brandon Tyler, Billy Hillman DQ.

VP Small Engines Fuels Night Northeast Paving & Sealcoating All-Star Slingshots: Mike Hill, Danny Ballard, Brett Putnam, Tyler Vadney, Darryn Fallis, Connor Hill, Jim Pollard, Bob Morey, Spencer Cherko, Tucker Jones, Andrew Millard, Scott Sprague, Jim Gaige, Nick Auspelmyer, Jim Mudge, Joe Smith DNS, Ryan O’Connor DNS.

VP Small Engines Fuels Night Northeast Paving & Sealcoating Junior Slingshots: Lucas Duncan, Sloan Cherko, Gordon Smith, Frank Twing Jr, Corky Warner, Tavien Blowers, Ryan McCoy, Brock Pinkerous DQ.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)