O’Connor, Ballard among winners at Glen Ridge

Tucker O'Connor (42) races with Travis Green (69) during a 602 heat race Sunday at Glen Ridge Motorsports Park in Fultonville. (The Leader-Herald/Paul Wager)

FULTONVILLE — On a night when Mother Nature looked like she might end the event early, Glen Ridge Motorsports Park managed to complete its racing card Sunday.

Just before warmups ended, the skies opened up and forced a delay of more than two hours.

When the cars returned to the track, drivers found themselves competing on a fast, smooth surface.

Three drivers posted their first career victory in their respective classes as Beau Ballard (pro stock), Kenny Allen (street stock) and Garrett Poland (limited sportsman) all picked up wins.

Also visiting Victory Lane were Tucker O’Connor (602 sportsman), Sloan Cherko (junior slingshots), Dan Ballard (all-star slingshots), Ray Young (single cam mini stock) and Josh Kane (dual cam mini stock).

Beau Ballard (15) races with Andy Graves (96) during pro stock action Sunday at Glen Ridge Motorsports Park in Fultonville. (The Leader-Herald/Paul Wager)

Competition Carburetion and the Man with the Red Chair handed out fast time awards to the drivers that turned the fastest laps in the pro stock and 602 sportsman features. Andy Graves was the pro stock winner and O’Connor claimed the 602 sportsman honors.

In the 602 sportsman feature, O’Connor made his way to the front after starting sixth to claim his first victory of the season.

Andrew Buff finished second, Hunter Lapp was third, Cody Ochs was fourth and Scott McCoy was fifth.

Rounding out the top 10 were Bill August, Derrick McGrew Jr., last week’s winner Travis Green, Brendan Gibbons and Alex VanPelt.

After winning his heat race, Beau Ballard started from the pole in the pro stock feature.

Tucker O'Connor (42) races with Andrew Buff (92) during the 602 sportsman feature Sunday at Glen Ridge Motorsports Park in Fultonville. (The Leader-Herald/Paul Wager)

He took full advantage of the starting spot, leading all 20 laps on his way to his first career win in the division.

Graves was second, Luke Horning was third, Jay Fitzgerald was fourth and Tanner Warner completed the top five.

Allen used the high line to claim the win in the 15-lap street stock feature. Harley Sheppard was second, Adam Tranka was third, Jim Duncan was fourth and Damon Anderson was fifth.

After winning the first two races of the season in the limited sportsman division, Troy Zilles looked to make it three straight as he started on the front row.

However, Zilles made contact with an infield tire barrier early in this week’s feature, ending his night and opening the door for a new winner.

Poland capitalized to claim his first career win in the division. Stephen Gray was second, Isaac Walker was third, Taylor Wason was fourth and Zilles finished fifth.

Dan Ballard took the lead on lap six of the all-star slingshot feature on his way to his first win of the season in the division. Mike Hill, who started 11th, finished second, Conner Hill was third, Brock Pinkerous was fourth and Scott Sprague was fifth.

Cherko picked up the win in the junior slingshots. Lucas Duncan was second, Corky Warner was third, Pinkerous was fourth and Frank Twing Jr. was fifth.

In the mini stocks, it was Joshua Kane earned the win in the dual-cam class, while Ray Young won in the single-cam class.

Glen Ridge will be back in action this Sunday. Racing is scheduled to begin at 6 p.m.

Glen Ridge Motorsports Park

June 28 Results

Red Chair DirtCar Racing 602 Sportsman: Tucker O’Connor, Andrew Buff, Hunter Lapp, Cody Ochs, Scott McCoy, Bill August, Derrick McGrew Jr., Travis Green, Brendan Gibbons, Alex VanPelt, Kenny Ryder, Joe Orlando, Aaron Jacobs, Ryan Heath.

Yurkewecz Auto Crushers DirtCar Racing Pro Stocks: Beau Ballard, Andy Graves, Luke Horning, Jay Fitzgerald, Tanner Warner, Justin Knight, Buck Gasner, Ken Griffin, Matt Groncki.

Limited Sportsman: Garrett Poland, Stephen Gray, Isaac Walker, Taylor Wason, Troy Zilles, Amber Jacobs.

Street Stocks: Kenny Allen, Harley Shepard, Adam Tranka, Jim Duncan, Damon Anderson.

Single Cam Mini Stock: Ray Young, Zach McSpirit, Wayne Russell Jr, Mike Haman, William Cook Jr., TJ Marlett, Dale VanAllen.

Dual Cam Mini Stock: Josh Kane, Justin Pope, Josh Samrov, Billy Hillman Jr, John Napoli, Pat McSpirit, Brandon Tyler.

Northeast Paving And Sealcoat All-Star Slingshots: Dan Ballard, Mike Hill, Conner Hill, Brock Pinkerous, Scott Sprague, Darryn Fallis, Jim Mudge, Bob Morey, Tucker Jones, Tyler Holcomb, Spencer Cherko, Andrew Millard, Tyler Vadney, Nick Auspelmyer, Don Boonstra, Jim Gage, Jim Pollard, Nick Millard.

Northeast Paving And Sealcoat Junior Slingshots: Sloan Cherko, Lucas Duncan, Corky Warner, Brock Pinkerous, Frank Twing Jr, Hayden Ackernecht, Tavien Blowers.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)


Starting at $4.75/week.

Subscribe Today