Lady Braves’ Lombardoni named WAC Mohawk Division MVP

Johnstown's Jaden Wilson (1) battles Fonda-Fultonville's Abby Lombardoni (15) for a rebound during non-league action Jan. 21 at Johnstown High School. Lombardoni recently was named the Western Athletic Conference Hudson Division's Most Valuable Player. (The Leader-Herald/James A. Ellis)

Several area players were among those named to the Western Athletic Conference girls basketball all-star team.

Fonda-Fultonville’s Abby Lombardoni was named the Hudson Division’s Most Valuable Player. The Lady Braves also had Carly Atty and Kyla Smith named to the first team, while Lindsey Lombardoni was named to the second team.

Mayfield’s Lindsey Hampton also was named to the Hudson Division first team, while Mayfield’s Kelsey Meca and Canajoharie’s Monica Hartlieb were named to the second team.

Mekeel Christian Academy had Avery Mills and Mikyla Mitchell named first-team Hudson Division all-stars, while Jillian Ballard was named to the second team for the Lions.

Notre Dame-Bishop Gibbons’ Ayanna Jackson also earned second-team honors.

In the Mohawk Division, Duanesburg’s Madison Meyer was named Most Valuable Player.

The Eagles’ Allison O’Hanlon was named a first-team Mohawk Division all-star, while Alex Moses and Hannah Mulhern were named to the second team for Duanesburg.

Berne-Knox-Westerlo’s Alexis Wright and Taylor Meacham were named first-team Mohawk Division all-stars, while Schoharie’s Hannah Cater and Middleburgh’s Hallie Gasner also were honors.

Northville’s Kerrigan Groff and Brytney Moore were named second-team Mohawk Division all-stars.

Rounding out the second-team selections was Berne-Knox-Westerlo’s Grace Tymchyn.

Oppenheim-Ephratah/St. Johnsville and Fort Plain did not have any all-star selections.

2019-20 Western Athletic Conference Girls Basketball All-Stars

Hudson Division

Most Valuable Player: Abby Lombardoni (Fonda-Fultonville)

First Team

Avery Mills (Mekeel Christian), Mikyla Mitchell (Mekeel Christian), Carly Atty (Fonda-Fultonville), Kyla Smith (Fonda-Fultonville), Lindsey Hampton (Mayfield)

Second Team

Jillian Ballard (Mekeel Christian), Lindsey Lombardoni (Fonda-Fultonville), Kelsey Meca (Mayfield), Monica Hartlieb (Canajoharie), Ayanna Jackson (Notre Dame-Bishop Gibbons)

Mohawk Division

Most Valuable Player: Madison Meyer (Duanesburg)

First Team

Alexis Wright (Berne-Knox-Westerlo), Taylor Meacham (Berne-Knox-Westerlo), Allison O’Hanlon (Duanesburg), Hannah Cater (Schoharie), Hallie Gasner (Middleburgh)

Second Team

Alex Moses (Duanesburg), Grace Tymchyn (Berne-Knox-Westerlo), Hannah Mulhern (Duanesburg), Kerrigan Groff (Northville), Brytney Moore (Northville)


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)