Dragons’ Bouchard named Foothills MVP

Gloversville's Jaret Warner (22) prepares to set a pick on Mekeel Christian's Jonon White (32) as Dante Bouchard (00) drives toward the hoop during a Section II Class A semifinal game March 5 at Cool Insuring Arena in Glens Falls. Bouchard recently was named the Foothills Council's Most Valuable Player. (The Leader-Herald/James A. Ellis)

Several area players were among those named to the Foothills Council boys basketball all-star team.

Gloversville senior Dante Bouchard was named the league’s Most Valuable Player.

Gloversville senior Joey Rowback, Broadalbin-Perth senior Dante Calderone and Amsterdam junior Yandeel Vasquez were all named first-team all-stars.

Broadalbin-Perth junior Jackson Sassanella was named a second-team all-star. Johnstown did not have any player named to the all-star team.

Rounding out the first-team selections were Hudson Falls junior Jonathan Beagle and Queensbury senior Bryce Bleibtrey.

Gloversville's Joey Rowback (23) pressures Broadalbin-Perth's Dante Calderone (22) as he brings the ball upcourt during Foothills Council action Jan. 7 at Robert C. Munn Gymnasium at Broadalbin-Perth High School. Both Calderone and Rowback were recently named first-team Foothills Council all-stars. (The Leader-Herald/james A. Ellis)

Glens Falls had seniors Nick Danahy and David Barclay named second-team all-stars, while junior Noah Girard was named to the second team for the Indians.

Also named to the second team were Hudson Falls senior Riley Maddison, Schuylerville junior Cayden Rutland and Hudson Falls junior Jack Hogan.

Queensbury juniors Matthew Conlon and Sean Collins were named to the third team, along with South Glens Falls senior Jonathan Maniacek and junior Cameron Woodard.

Schuylerville sophomore Owen Sherman also earned third-team honors.

2019-20 Foothills Council Boys Basketball All-Stars

MVP: Dante Bouchard (Gloversville)

First Team

Joey Rowback (Gloversville), Jonathan Beagle (Hudson Falls), Bryce Bleibtrey (Queensbury), Dante Calderone (Broadalbin-Perth), Yandeel Vasquez (Amsterdam)

Second Team

Nicholas Danahy (Glens Falls), Noah Girard (Glens Falls), David Barclay (Glens Falls), Riley Maddison (Hudson Falls), Jackson Sassanella (Broadalbin-Perth), John Hogan (Hudson Falls), Cayden Rutland (Schuylerville)

Third Team

Jonathan Maniacek (South Glens Falls), Matthew Conlon (Queensbury), Sean Collins (Queensbury), Owen Sherman (Schuylerville), Cameron Woodard (South Glens Falls)


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)