Dillenback earns Section II honor

Gloversville-Mayfield’s Dane Dillenback displays the medal he won at the New York State Public High School Athletic Association swimming and diving championships on March 6 and 7. (Photo submitted)

Gloversville-Mayfield swimmer Dane Dillenback was named to the Section II, Division II All-Star team.

The Gloversville High School sophomore medaled at the 2020 New York State Public High School Athletic Association boys swimming championships March 6 and 7 at the Nassau County Aquatic Center.

Dillenback turned in a time of 52.57 in the 100-yard butterfly to place 10th among the NYSPHSAA athletes. His time was the 17th fastest overall out of 59 swimmers in the Federation competition.

He also qualified for the state championship meet in the 50-yard freestyle but his time of 22.18 in the preliminaries did not advance him to the second day of competition.

Fellow Foothills Council swimmers TJ Bearor and Ross Caimano of Queensbury also were named to the team.

After leading Glens Falls to a sectional title, Kevin Crossman was named the Division II Coach of the Year, while Shenendehowa’s Chuck Dunham earned the Division I honor.

Section II Boys Swimming All-Stars

Division I

Max Kaback;Bethlehem

Joey Chiarella;Bethlehem

John Janeski;Bethlehem

Jason Wu;Bethlehem

Alex Fabris;Shenendehowa

Zack Lassetter;Shenendehowa

Mark Lipkin;Niskayuna

Mark Gregory;Saratoga

Connor Compton (diver);Niskayuna

Coach of year: Chuck Dunham;Shenendehowa

Division II

Bryce Henkel;Albany Academy

Brayden Henkel;Albany Academy

Benedetto Fuscco;Mohon-Schalmont

Dane Dillenback;Gloversville

TJ Bearor;Queensbury

Ross Caimano;Queensbury

Keegan Stafford;Burnt Hills

Liam Marshall;Burnt Hills

Jared Larson (diver);Ravena

Coach of Year: Kevin Crossman;Glens Falls


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)