Area skiers named Section II all-stars

The Mayfield girls Nordic ski team, from left, Fianna Halloran, Tatjana Bjelica, Madison Relyea and Delaney LaFontaine, celebrate after winning the Section II championship Feb. 12 at Lapland Lake Nordic Ski Center in Benson. All four were named to the Section II Nordic Skiing all-star team. (The Leader-Herald/James A. Ellis)

Several Mayfield skiers were among those named to the Section II Nordic Skiing all-star team.

Madison Relyea and Fianna Halloran were named to the girls first team for the Lady Panthers, while Tatjana Bjelica was named to the second team. Delaney LaFontaine was named honorable mention for Mayfield, which won the Section II title for the second straight year.

Rounding out the girls first team were Hadley-Luzerne’ Katrin Schreiner and Glens Falls’ Katie Culliton.

Earning second-team honors were Queensbury’s Lorraina Guay and Johnsburg’s Sheridan Millington and Avery Bayse.

Queensbury’s Iris Wiedmann, Brittany Barton and Annalise Beyerbach were named honorable mention, along with Scotia-Glenville’s Sophie Olson.

Mayfield's Madison Relyea hits the finish line to post a time of 22:56.3 over the 7.5K course at Lapland Lake Nordic Ski Center Wednesday to win the Section II championship. Relyea recently was named a first-team Section II Nordic Skiing all-star. (The Leader-Herald/James A. Ellis)

On the boys side, Mayfield’s Brayden Jourden was named honorable mention.

Queensbury’s Nick Logan and Lucas Jenkin were named to the first team, along with Lake George’s Paul Lindsay and Sam Bordeau.

In addition to its two first-team selections, Queensbury also had Teddy Borgos and Sam Rowley named to the second team, while Ben Jenkin earned honorable-mention status for the Spartans.

Johnsburg’s Gabe Smith and Shenendehowa’s Thomas Wiedmann were named to the second team, while Shenendehowa’s Philip Matthews and Lake George’s Joseph Cocozza were named honorable mention.

2019-20 Section II Nordic Skiing All-Stars


First Team

Paul Lindsay (Lake George), Nick Logan (Queensbury), Lucas Jenkin (Queensbury), Sam Bordeau (Glens Falls)

Second Team

Gabe Smith (Johnsburg), Thomas Wiedmann (Shenendehowa), Teddy Borgos (Queensbury), Sam Rowley (Queensbury)

Honorable Mention

Philip Matthews (Shenendehowa), Joseph Cocozza (Lake George), Brayden Jourden (Mayfield), Ben Jenkin (Queensbury)


First Team

Madison Relyea (Mayfield), Katrin Schreiner (Hadley-Luzerne), Fianna Halloran (Mayfield), Katie Culliton (Glens Falls)

Second Team

Lorraina Guay (Queensbury), Tatjana Bjelica (Mayfield), Avery Bayse (Johnsburg), Sheridan Millington (Johnsburg)

Honorable Mention

Iris Wiedmann (Shenendehowa), Annalise Beyerbach (Queensbury), Brittany Barton (Queensbury), Sophie Olson (Scotia-Glenville), Delaney LaFontaine (Mayfield)


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)