Hall of Fame seeking candidates

The Greater Capital Region Track, Field and Cross Country Hall of Fame, already sporting an impressive list of Olympians, state and national champions and long-time record holders, is now accepting nominations for its third class of inductees.

Eligible candidates include track and cross country standouts, road racers, coaches and contributors whose achievements occurred primarily in the Capital Region.

Nominees must be at least five years removed from high school, but need not be retired from the sport.

Nominations will be accepted through April 15, and the induction banquet will take place Sept. 26 at the Marriott on Wolf Road in Colonie.

Nomination forms are available at the hall’s website, www.crtfcchof.weebly.com.

The first class of 17 inductees included Olympians Andy Bloom, Diana Richburg, Tracy Baskin, Tim Lewis, Aliann Pompey and Rudy Winkler, along with coaches Art and Linda Kranick and famed high school and college runners Cheri Goddard, Miles Irish and Rhonda Phillips.

The second class was also impressive, including road racing stars Barry Brown and Tom Dalton; standouts of the 1960s such as Gary Connor and Vince McArdle; multi-events champions Heidi Mann and Jennifer Petersen Jette; accomplished middle distance runner Liz Maloy DeBole; perennial state champs Klarissa Ricks and Sarah Palmer; and two legendary coaches, Ed Springstead (Shaker) and the late Cliff Lehman (CBA).

Questions and comments can be directed to President Peter Sheridan at psheridan3@nycap.rr.com or 518-860-7721.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)