Boys Swimming Roundup: Fo-Jo drops opening meet to Ravena

RAVENA — The Fonda-Johnstown swimmers won seven out of 12 events but the depth of the Ravena-Coeymans-Selkirk squad proved to be the difference as they defeated Fo-Jo 83-76 Tuesday at Ravena-Coeymans-Selkirk High School.

“Even though we lost, this meet was a positive step in the right direction for the program,” Fo-Jo coach ken Hoefs said. “This was the first-ever varsity meet for eight of the swimmers who swam this evening. We swam well for essentially the entire team being in their first varsity meet. We are looking forward to Ravena coming to Johnstown in January and seeing if we can avenge this loss when we have more varsity experience.”

Vince Rizzo and Ryan Nawrot were double individual winners for Fo-Jo.

Rizzo won the 200-yard individual medley with a time of 2:29.05 and the 500-yard freestyle in 6:02.11.

Nawrot won the 100-yard butterfly with a time of 1:04.93 and the 100-yard backstroke with a time of 1:10.48.

Also picking up a victory for Fo-Jo was Keegan Elston in the 100-yard breaststroke with a time of 1:27.43.

Rizzo and Nawrot teamed with John Witzke and Ethan Angus to win the 200-yard medley relay with a time of 2:03.38 and the 400-yard freestyle relay with their time of 4:28.22.

Fonda-Johnstown is scheduled to host Queensbury on Thursday at 4:30 p.m. in its Foothills Council opener.

Ravena-Coeymans-Selkirk 83, Fonda-Johnstown 76

200 medley relay: Fonda-Johnstown (Witzke, Rizzo, Nawrot, Angus), 2:03.38.

200 freestyle: 1. Ryan Leonard (RCS), 2:22.01.

200 individual medley: 1. Vince Rizzo (FoJo), 2:29.05.

50 freestyle: 1. Juan Castillo (RCS), 27.13.

Diving: 1. Jared Lamson (RCS), 245.40.

100 butterfly: 1. Ryan Nawrot (FoJo), 1:04.93.

100 freestyle: 1. Tyler Levine (RCS), 1:09.84.

500 freestyle: 1. Vince Rizzo (FoJo), 6:02.11.

200 freestyle relay: Ravena-Coeymans-Selkirk (Rossi, Gilbert, Levine, Lamson), 1:54.45.

100 backstroke: 1. Ryan Nawrot (FoJo), 1:10.48.

100 breaststroke: 1. Keegan Elston (FoJo), 1:27.43.

400 freestyle relay: Fonda-Johnstown (Angus, Rizzo, Witzke, Nawrot), 4:28.22.

Albany Academy 115, Gloversville-Mayfield 69

ALBANY — Yxlphrm Burke posted the lone individual victory for Gloversville-Mayfield in Tuesday’s non-league meet against Albany Academy.

Burke picked up the victory in the 1-meter diving competition with 217.70 total points.

The Sea Dragons’ 200 and 400-yard freestyle relay teams also picked up victories in the meet.

The team of Kazuma Lomanto, Lukas Oathout, Logan Oathout and Anthony Albanese won the 200-yard freestyle relay with their time of 1:51.95, while Ben Smouse, Dane Dillenback, Lomanto and Jacob Sweeney won the 400-yard freestyle relay with a time of 3:49.96.

Albany Academy 115, Gloversville-Mayfield 69

200 medley relay: Albany Academy (Young, Henkel, Henkel, Strich), 1:43.56.

200 freestyle: 1. Ivan Young (AA), 2:04.11.

200 individual medley: 1. Brayden Henkel (AA), 2:06.92.

50 freestyle: 1. Bryce Henkel (AA), 22.43.

Diving: 1. Yxlphrm Burke (GM), 217.70.

100 butterfly: 1. Bryce Henkel (AA), 52.86.

100 freestyle: 1. Silas Strich (AA), 55.80.

500 freestyle: 1. Isak Brkanovic (AA), 5:55.40.

200 freestyle relay: Gloversville-Mayfield (Lomanto, Oathout, Oathout, Albanese), 1:51.95.

100 backstroke: 1. Ian Young (AA), 1:05.24.

100 breaststroke: 1. Brayden Henkel (AA), 1:02.01.

400 freestyle relay: Gloversville-Mayfield (Smouse, Dillenback, Lomanto, Sweeney), 3:49.96.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)