Area players named WAC girls all-stars

Northville's Brytney Moore (16) is challenged by Poland's Amanda Sweet (17) as she moves the ball upfield during a NYSPHSAA Class D semifinal match at Homer High School on Nov. 16. Moore recently was named a first-team Western Athletic Conference all-star. (The Leader-Herald/James A. Ellis)

Several area girls soccer players were among those named Western Athletic Conference Section II all-stars.

Oppenheim-Ephratah/St. Johnsville had junior forward Ashley Engle and junior defender Alexis Mumford named first-team all-stars, while Northville had junior midfielder Grace Forsey, senior keeper Emily Shepard and senior forward Brytney Moore earn first-team honors.

Mayfield senior forward Lindsey Hampton, Fort Plain senior forward Gabby Jenks, Galway junior forward Isabella Mancini, Canajoharie senior midfielder Kylee Rickard, Fonda-Fultonville senior midfielder Stella Williams and Canajoharie senior defender Regan Sala also were named to the first team.

Northville senior midfielder Madison Whittaker and senior defender Avery Feldman were named second-team all-stars, along with OESJ senior forward Abigail Johnson and senior defender Isabella Masi.

Also earning second-team honors were Canajoharie senior forward Caitlyn Baker, Mayfield junior midfielder Jillian Botch, Canajoharie senior midfielder Vanessa VanSlyke, Galway senior midfielder Rachel Wnuk, Fonda-Fultonville junior defender Amaya Vainauskas, Fort Plain sophomore defender Sarah Florian,

Schoharie junior midfielder Megan Krohn was named the Most Valuable Offensive Player, while Duanesburg senior defender Sam Kornbrek was named Most Valuable Defensive Player. Kornbrek and Krohn also were named first-team all-stars.

Schoharie also had sophomore defender Abigail Fagnani, sophomore forward Katelyn Krohn and freshman defender Morgan Phelan named first-team all-stars.

Rounding out the first-team selections were Duanesburg junior forward Olivia Harris, Berne-Knox-Westerlo freshman midfielder Ashlee Stevens and Mekeel Christian Academy junior midfielder Michaela VanSlyck.

Schoharie had senior midfielder Mackenzie Barton, freshman midfielder Haley Drinon,

Rounding out the second-team selections were Mekeel Christian junior midfielder Mia Biscossi, Duanesburg junior midfielder Valerie Schaeffer, Middleburgh senior defender Morgan Schafroth, Berne-Knox-Westerlo junior midfielder Tarah VonHaugg and Middleburgh sophomore goalie Cameryn Shultes.

2019 Western Athletic Conference

Section II Girls Soccer All-Stars

MVP Offense: Megan Krohn (Schoharie)

MVP Defense: Sam Kornbrek (Duanesburg)

First Team

Ashley Engle (Oppenheim-Ephratah/St. Johnsville), Abigail Fagnani (Schoharie), Grace Forsey (Northville), Lindsey Hampton (Mayfield), Olivia Harris (Duanesburg), Gabby Jenks (Fort Plain), Sam Kornbrek (Duanesburg), Megan Krohn (Schoharie), Katelyn Krohn (Schoharie), Isabella Mancini (Galway), Brytney Moore (Northville), Alexis Mumford (Oppenheim-Ephratah/St. Johnsville), Morgan Phelan (Schoharie), Kylee Rickard (Canajoharie), Regan Sala (Canajoharie), Emily Shepard (Northville), Ashlee Stevens (Berne-Knox-Westerlo), Michaela VanSlyck (Mekeel Christian Academy), Stella Williams (Fonda-Fultonville)

Second Team

Caitlyn Baker (Canajoharie), Mackenzie Barton (Schoharie), Mia Biscossi (Mekeel Christian Academy), Jillian Botch (Mayfield), Haley Drinon (Schoharie), Avery Feldman (Northville), Sarah Florian (Fort Plain), Abigail Johnson (Oppenheim-Ephratah/St. Johnsville), Isabella Masi (Oppenheim-Ephratah/St. Johnsville), Valerie Schaeffer (Duanesburg), Morgan Schafroth (Middleburgh), Cameryn Shultes (Middleburgh), Amaya Vainauskas (Fonda-Fultonville), Vanessa VanSlyke (Canajoharie), Tarah VonHaugg (Berne-Knox-Westerlo), Madison Whittaker (Northville), Rachel Wnuk (Galway)


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)


Starting at $4.75/week.

Subscribe Today