Several local players earn Foothills honors

Broadalbin-Perth's Kyle Denman (11) cuts the ball away from Gloversville defender Keegan Holmes (9) during a Foothills Council match at Gloversville High School. (The Leader-Herald/James A. Ellis)

Several area players were among those named to the recently announced Foothills Council boys soccer all-star team.

Broadalbin-Perth had forward Kyle Denman, midfielder Hunter Monks, defender Cedric Boehme, goalkeeper Jack Marsden and midfielder Cameron Polikowski named first-team South Division all-stars.

Gloversville defender Paul Lomanto and forward Feras Masri also were named first-team South Division all-stars.

Scotia-Glenville’s Jared O’Connor, Nick Neilsen, Sam Storti, Michah Hughes and Aidan Nichter rounded out the first-team South Division selections.

Johnstown midfielder Angel Zapata, defender Kyle Salamack, defender Jack Germain were named second-team all-stars, along with Broadalbin-Perth defenders Cody Rogers and Ryan Hertik. Amsterdam goalkeeper Lucca Quatrini also was named to the second team.

Gloversville's Thomas Kluska (6) looks on as the Dragons' Paul Lomanto (1) battles with Glens Falls' Nick Green (27) for control of the ball during the Foothills Council opener for both teams at Gloversville High School. (The Leader-Herald/James A. Ellis)

Queensbury’s Teddy Borgos, a senior forward, was named Most Valuable Player. Borgos is Queensbury’s all-time leader in goals (82), assists (38) and points (202).

Queensbury also had Peter Crawford, Alex Roca and Lucas McCane named North Division first-team all-stars, while South Glens Falls, which shared the league title with the Spartans, had Bobby Bruschini, Lanning Torebka and Xander Holden earn North Division first-team honors.

Also named to the North Division first team were Schuylerville’s Zach Saddlemire, Matt McCarthy and Brady Eugair; and Hudson Falls’ Alex Varney.

South Glens Falls also had Andrew King, Collin Parker and Derek Bushman named to the second team, while Queensbury’s Brendan Duffy, A.J. Rosario and Ethan Willis also earned second-team honors.

Rounding out the second-team selections were Glens Falls’ Ethan Schrammel and Ben DiFiore; Schuylerville’s Ian Winchell, Liam Armstrong and Cayden Renner and Hudson Falls’ Nik Heasley.

Hudson Falls also had Logan Clouse, Carter Lewis, Joe Lapan, Brayden Becker and Brandon Pond named honorable mention.

Rounding out the honorable-mention selections were South Glens Falls’ Justin Nesbitt and Ben Stimpson; Glens Falls’ Cyrus Guilett and Mitchell Skellie; and Schuylerville’s Reese Tavares and Alex Vallee.

2019 Foothills Council Boys Soccer All-Stars

Most Valuable Player: Teddy Borgos (Queensbury)

North Division First Team

Bobby Bruschini (South Glens Falls), Peter Crawford (Queensbury), Alex Roca (Queensbury), Lucas McCane (Queensbury), Lanning Torebka (South Glens Falls), Zach Saddlemire (Schuylerville), Matt McCarthy (Schuylerville), Alex Varney (Hudson Falls), Xander Holden (South Glens Falls), Brady Eugair (Schuylerville)

South Division First Team

Jared O’Connor (Scotia-Glenville), Hunter Monks (Broadalbin-Perth), Feras Masri (Gloversville), Kyle Denman (Broadalbin-Perth), Cedric Boehme (Broadalbin-Perth), Cameron Polikowski (Broadalbin-Perth), Nick Neilsen (Scotia-Glenville), Sam Storti (Scotia-Glenville), Paul Lomanto (Gloversville), Michah Hughes (Scotia-Glenville), Aidan Nichter (Scotia-Glenville), Jack Marsden (Broadalbin-Perth)

Second Team

Andrew King (South Glens Falls), Collin Parker (South Glens Falls), Ethan Schrammel (Glens Falls), Ian Winchell (Schuylerville), Derek Bushman (South Glens Falls), Brendan Duffy (Queensbury), Cayden Renner (Schuylerville), Nik Heasley (Hudson Falls), A.J. Rosario (Queensbury), Liam Armstrong (Schuylerville), Cody Rogers (Broadalbin-Perth), Jack Germain (Johnstown), Ryan Hertik; (Broadalbin-Perth), Angel Zapata (Johnstown), Kyle Salamack (Johnstown), Lucca Quatrini (Amsterdam), Ben DiFiore (Glens Falls), Ethan Willis (Queensbury)

Honorable Mention

Hudson Falls: Logan Clouse, Carter Lewis, Joe Lapan, Brayden Becker, Brandon Pond.

South High: Justin Nesbitt, Ben Stimpson.

Glens Falls: Cyrus Guilett, Mitchell Skellie.

Schuylerville: Reese Tavares, Alex Vallee.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)


Starting at $4.15/week.

Subscribe Today