Galway’s Reedy named WAC MVP

Galway’s Julia Reedy (22) drives the ball as Chateaugay’s Freanna Trombley (2) attempts to block the hit during a Class D Regional semifinal match Nov. 14 at Burnt Hills-Ballston Lake High School. Reedy, a sophomore, was recently named the Western Athletic Conference Most Valueable Player and Hudson Division MVP. (The Leader-Herald/James A. Ellis)

Several area volleyball players were among those named to the 2019 Western Athletic Conference volleyball all-star team.

Galway’s Julia Reedy was named the WAC Most Valuable Player and the Hudson Division MVP.

Reedy, a sophomore outside hitter, also was named a first-team Hudson Division all-star and shared the MVP Hitter Award with Fonda-Fultonville’s Marilyn Whitcavitch.

Galway’s Katy Kurtzner, Canajoharie’s Fort Plain’s Sydney Shepard, Galway’s Hannah Hofmann and Whitcavitch also were named first-team Hudson Division all-stars.

Shepard and Hofmann shared the MVP Setter Award, while Kurtzner was the Defensive MVP for the Hudson Division.

Fonda-Fultonville's Marilyn Whitcavitch (11) prepares the drive the ball over the net against Galway's Diana Colangelo (13) and Aila Bishop (12) during Western Athletic Conference action at Fonda-Fultonville High School. (The Leader-Herald/James A. Ellis)

Notre Dame-Bishop Gibbons’ Christina Brown rounded out the first-team Hudson Division selections.

Fonda-Fultonville also had Julia Bagnardi and Krystal McSpirit named second-team Hudson Division all-stars. Mayfield’s Deandra Myers and Galway’s Anna Gardner also were named second-team Hudson Division all-stars.

Rounding out the Hudson Division second-team selections were Mekeel Christian Academy’s Chloe Ekstein and Notre Dame-Bishop Gibbons’ Abby Verhayden.

In the Mohawk Division, Schoharie had Bridget Cipperly, Racquel Gerstenberger and Alyssa VanGasbeck named first-team all-stars.

Rounding out the Mohawk Division first team were Middleburgh’s Hallie Gasner, Duanesburg’s Lorel Johnson and Middleburgh’s Anna Hooper.

Hooper and Gerstenberger shared the Mohawk Division MVP Award, while Cipper was named MVP Hitter. Hooper also was named MVP Setter, while Gerstenberger was named Defensive MVP.

Oppenheim-Ephratah/St. Johnsville Kenidee Oare and Mackenzie Smith were named second-team Mohawk Division all-stars.

Rounding out the Mohawk Division second team were Schoharie’s Mckenzie Liddle, Duanesburg’s Hannah Boelke, Berne-Knox-Westerlo’s Cheyenne Brooks and Duanesburg’s Madison Meyer.

Exceptional Seniors

Galway had Hofmann and Gardner named to the Hudson Division team for the WAC Exceptional Senior Game.

Canajoharie-Fort Plain’s Shepard and Lauren Weinberger also were part of the Hudson Division team, along with Fonda-Fultonville’s Bagnardi, McSpirit and Peyton Zilles. Mayfield’s Madison Willis and Jordan Rivenburg also were named to the Hudson Division squad.

Rounding out the Hudson Division were were Notre Dame-Bishop Gibbons’ Verhayden and Brown.

The Hudson Division alternates were C-FP’s Isabella Paige, Mayfield’s Morgan Mraz and C-FP’s McKayla Hayner.

Oare and Smith were part of the Mohawk Division Exceptional Seniors team.

They were joined by Duanesburg’s Boelke and Emily Rose; Middleburgh’s Kassidy Kovac, Michela Crescimanno; Schoharie’s Cipperly, Liddle and Savannah Cater; and Berne-Knox-Westerlo’s Brooks, Reagan Smith and Caitlin Wiesenborn.

Middleburgh’s Alyssa Germain, Schoharie’s Maddy Moesky and Middleburgh’s Ania Keidong were the Mohawk Division alternates.

2019 Western Athletic Conference Volleyball All-Stars

Overall MVP: Julia Reedy (Galway)

Hudson Division

MVP: Julia Reedy (Galway)

co-MVP Hitters: Julia Reedy (Galway), Marilyn Whitcavitch (Fonda-Fultonville)

co-MVP Setters: Sydney Shepard (Canajoharie-Fort Plain), Hannah Hofmann (Galway)

MVP Defense: Katy Kurtzner (Galway)

First Team

Julia Reedy (Galway), Marilyn Whitcavitch (Fonda-Fultonville), Katy Kurtzner (Galway), Sydney Shepard (Canajoharie-Fort Plain), Hannah Hofmann (Galway), Christina Brown (Notre Dame-Bishop Gibbons)

Second Team

Julia Bagnardi (Fonda-Fultonville), Deandra Myers (Mayfield), Anna Gardner (Galway), Krystal McSpirit (Fonda-Fultonville), Chloe Ekstein (Mekeel Christian Academy), Abby Verhayden (Notre Dame-Bishop Gibbons)

Mohawk Division

Co-MVPs: Anna Hooper (Middleburgh), Racquel Gerstenberger (Schoharie)

MVP Hitter: Bridget Cipperly (Schoharie)

MVP Setter: Anna Hooper (Middleburgh)

MVP Defense: Racquel Gerstenberger (Schoharie)

First Team

Lorel Johnson (Duanesburg), Hallie Gasner (Middleburgh), Anna Hooper (Middleburgh), Bridget Cipperly (Schoharie), Racquel Gerstenberger (Schoharie), Alyssa VanGasbeck (Schoharie)

Second Team

Kenidee Oare (Oppenheim-Ephratah/St. Johnsville), Mackenzie Smith (Oppenheim-Ephratah/St. Johnsville), Mckenzie Liddle (Schoharie), Hannah Boelhke (Duanesburg), Madison Meyer (Duanesburg), Cheyenne Brooks (Berne-Knox-Westerlo)


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)