Fo-Jo swimmers finish eighth, Sea Dragons ninth at sectionals

The Fonda-Johnstown 200 medley relay team. (Photo submitted)

CLIFTON PARK — The Fonda-Johnstown girls swim team placed eighth in the team standings at the Section II Division 2 Girls Swimming and Diving Championships on Saturday at Shenendehowa High School.

Fo-Jo finished with 85 points, while Gloversville-Mayfield was ninth with 61 points. Amsterdam did not have any swimmers compete in Saturday’s finals.

Gloversville-Mayfield’s Mariana Benvenuto was fifth in the 100-yard butterfly with a time of 1:02.50. Benvenuto also was 10th in the 200 individual medley with a time of 2:23.82.

Fonda-Johnstown’s Scout Huckans was seventh in the 100 backstroke with a time of 1:05.92. Huckans also was 13th in the 100 butterfly with a time of 1:07.83.

Fonda-Johnstown’s Angelina Atwood finished 16th in the 50 freestyle with a time of 28.33 seconds.

Fo-Jo’s Abigail Rizzo (6:17.90) was 13th in the 500 freestyle.

In the 200 freestyle relay, Fonda-Johnstown’s Emma VanGorder, Jenna Weaver, Atwood and Rizzo were seventh with a time of 2:00.53. Gloversville-Mayfield’s Nature Conyne, Finley Ebersole, Abigail Seltzer and Sophey Willis were eighth with a time of 2:05.78.

Fonda-Johnstown was eighth in the 400 freestyle relay as the team of Atwood, Julia Norris, Rizzo and Huckans posted a time of 4:14.73. Gloversville-Mayfield’s Miracle Conyne, Ebersole, Benvenuto and Sydney Yates finished ninth with a time of 4:30.13.

In the 200 medley relay, Fonda-Johnstown’s Julia Norris, Jenna Weaver, Huckans and VanGorder was ninth with a time of 2:21.24. Gloversville-Mayfield was disqualified.

“Fonda-Johnstown swam well today. We had swimmers place in finals who never placed before, seniors have their personal best times in either an individual event or relay and a seventh-grader finish seventh,” Fonda-Johnstown coach Ken Hoefs said. “We will miss our five seniors who competed at sectionals, Angie Atwood, Callie Fagan, Julia Norris, Abigail Rizzo and Jenna Weaver. However, the future is bright for Delaney Grady, Scout Huckans and Emma VanGorder for next season.”


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)