Area runners top WAC cross-country all-star list

Several area runners were among those named to the Western Athletic Conference cross country all-star team.

Fonda-Fultonville, which won the Section II Class C title, had Shane Viscosi, Bennett Melita, Mattheu Dettenrider, Christian Pearce and Ty Sanges named to the WAC boys all-star team.

Mayfield’s Cameron Abdella, Trevor Ruberti and Shawn Allen also were named boys all-stars, along with Galway’s Holden Decker.

The Mayfield girls had Madison Relyea, Fianna Halloran and Tatjana Bjelica named all-stars, while Fonda-Fultonville’s Haley Clear and Avery Cusack also were named all-stars.

Canajoharie-Fort Plain’s Emma Karker and Galway’s Emma Jordan also were named to the girls WAC all-star team.

Duanesburg had four runners named to the boys all-star team as Andrew Drescher, George Atanasov, Matt Coons and Paul Munson were honors.

Rounding out the WAC boys all-star selections were Schoharie’s Austin Lints and Notre Dame-Bishop Gibbons’ Ben Verbicky

Berne-Knox-Westerlo had Michelle Puzulis, Cecelia Crossett, Caroline Mundell and Cameron Goss named to the girls all-star team.

Rounding out the girls all-star selections were Schoharie’s Scarlett Rose, Mekeel Christian Academy’s Madison Lilienthal, Duanesburg’s Jessica Archambault and Notre Dame-Bishop Gibbons’ Sophia Verbicky.

2019 Western Athletic Conference

Cross Country All-Stars


Duanesburg: Andrew Drescher, George Atanasov, Matt Coons, Paul Munson

Fonda-Fultonville: Shane Viscosi, Bennett Melita, Mattheu Dettenrider, Christian Pearce, Ty Sanges

Mayfield: Cameron Abdella, Trevor Ruberti & Shawn Allen

Galway: Holden Decker

Schoharie: Austin Lints

Notre Dame-Bishop Gibbons: Ben Verbicky


Mayfield: Madison Relyea, Fianna Halloran, Tatjana Bjelica

Berne-Knox-Westerlo: Michelle Puzulis, Cecelia Crossett, Caroline Mundell, Cameron Goss

Fonda: Haley Clear, Avery Cusack

Galway: Emma Jordan

Schoharie: Scarlett Rose

Mekeel Christian Academy: Madison Lilienthal

Notre Dame-Bishop Gibbons: Sophia Verbicky

Canajoharie-Fort Plain: Emma Karker

Duanesburg: Jessica Archambeault


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)