Cross Country Roundup: Johnstown boys post win over Gloversville

Runners leave the starting line to begin Tuesday's Foothills Council cross country meet between Johnstown and Gloversville at Johnstown High School. (The Leader-Herald/James A. Ellis)

JOHNSTOWN — The Johnstown boys cross country team posted a victory over Gloversville in a Foothills Council meet at Johnstown High School on Tuesday.

The Sir Bills scored 15 points against an incomplete Gloversville squad to earn the win

In the girls meet, both teams were incomplete.

Gloversville’s Dylan Phillips won the boys race with a time of 19:34. Phillips was the lone runner for the Huskies.

For Johnstown. Alex Cwiakala (20:23) was second, Tyler Downing (20:24) was third, Jake Wesley (21:18) was fourth and Josh Peck (21:27) was fifth.

Johnstown's Alex Cwiakala and Gloversville's Dylan Phillips battle on the front of Tuesday's Foothills Council cross country dual meet at Johnstown High School. (The Leader-Herald/James A. Ellis)

Also competing for Johnstown were Garrett Bobowski (sixth, 22:37), Max Gyldenvand (seventh, 23:25), Nate Cotton (eighth, 24:00), Vinnie Rizzo (ninth, 24:09), Tyler Rando (10th, 26:17), Andrew Ryder (11th, 26:17), Jackson Haverly (14th, 30:58), Shain Krutz (13th, 34:33) and Caleb Kobas (14th, 34:40).

Just three runners competed in the girls race.

Gloversville’s Rhea Winter won with a time of 23:27. Johnstown’s Maddy King (32:10) was second and Megan Sitterly (34:04) was third.

B-P boys, girls top Amsterdam

GALWAY — The Broadalbin-Perth boys and girls cross country teams picked up wins over Amsterdam in a Foothills Council meet Tuesday at Bob’s Tree Farm.

The boys won 24-32, while the girls notched a 17-39 victory.

In the boys meet, Amsterdam’s Trevor Dzikowicz won the 2.84-mile race with a time of 16:43.

Broadalbin-Perth swept the next three spots, with Micah Smith (17:06) placing second, Connor Couperus (17:17) taking third and Daniel Dylong (18:24) was fourth.

Amsterdam’s Daniel Bublak completed the top five, placing fifth with a time of 19:03.

Broadalbin-Perth’s Joshua Hughes (sixth, 19:42), Amsterdam’s Joseph Santiago (seventh, 19:43), Amsterdam’s Matthew Stachnik (eighth, 19:46), Broadalbin-Perth’s Jordan Perna (ninth, 20:03) and Broadalbin-Perth’s Jonathan Simmons (10th, 20:16) rounded out the top 10.

Also competing for B-P were Aiden Snyder (12th, 20:31), Logan Zara (14th, 22:59), Thomas Holland (15th, 23:26) and Antonio Zevola (16th, 24:36).

For Amsterdam, Brady Naish (11th, 20:25), Justin Santiago (13th, 22:15) and Tyler Rodecker (17th, 25:41) also competed.

In the girls race, Broadalbin-Perth’s Sarah Smith posted a winning time of 19:49 on the 2.84-mile course.

B-P’s Samantha Murphy (20:49) was second and B-P’s Lauren Phillips (21:39) was third.

Rounding out the top five were Amsterdam’s Rosalie Sculco (fourth, 22:21) and Broadalbin-Perth’s Emma Frasier (fifth, 22:36).

Also competing for the Patriots were Caroline Iannotti (sixth, 22:37), Eva Tyler (10th, 24:09), Grace Smith (15th, 26:08), Erica Lin (16th, 26:24) and Bianca Ropeter (17th,, 26:39).

Also competing for the Lady Rams were Skylar Grybos (seventh, 23:02), Brook Marshall (eighth, 23:06), Sydney Szczepanik (ninth, 23:35), Alinah Marinov (11th, 24:19), Briana Kelly (12th, 24:44), Josie Smith (13th, 25:09), Kayla Sondrup (14th, 25:41), Makayla Brown (18th, 32:15) and Emma Kelly (19th, 35:32).