Orlando halts Warner’s win streak at Glen Ridge

Joe Orlando puts his 602 Crate Modified through its paces during qualifying action Sunday at Glen Ridge Motorsports Park. Orlando captured the 30-lap Red Chair crate modified feature win. (The Leader-Herald/James A. Ellis)

FULTONVILLE — Joe Orlando played the part of spoiler Sunday night at Glen Ridge Motorsports Park.

Orlando withstood race-long pressure from Andrew Buff to snap Rocky Warner’s five-race win streak and record his second career win at The Ridge with a green-to-checkers run to capture the 30-lap Red Chair crate modified feature.

Sunday’s race program also featured the Northeast Slingshot All-Star Series. With Richie Tobias in attendance, Brock “Bam Bam” Pinkerous defended his home turf with his victory in the Northeast Paving and Sealing junior slingshot feature, while invader Kyle Herve held on for the victory in the All-Star senior slingshot main event.

Eric Jennings picked up the victory in the added WRA wingless sprint feature over Mark Connolly and Link Pettit, while Justin Knight picked up his first win of the year in the Yurkewecz Auto Crusher pro stock main and Cliff Haslun notched his third street stock win of the year.

Josh Kane garnered his fourth-straight dual cam mini stock feature, while Tim Billington picked up his second single cam mini stock win of the year and Billy August won the limited sportsman main event.

Eric Jennings (14) and Mark Connolly (88) battle during the Wingless Racers Alliance A-Main Sunday night at Glen Ridge Motorsports Park. Jennings went on to win the feature over Connolly and Link Pettit. (The Leader-Herald/James A. Ellis)

Scott McCoy and Orlando brought the crate modified field to the green with Orlando gaining the early advantage over Buff.

At the 10-lap mark, Brian Calabrese and Rocky Warner joined the front-running duo as the leaders began encountering lapped traffic.

The first caution of the race came with six laps remaining when contact between Warner and Calabrese turned Calabrese around in turn one. Warner was penalized for the contact and both drivers began a six-lap dash to the finish from the back of the pack.

The field went under the caution with four laps remaining when Colin Clow came to a stop on the track, setting up a four-lap showdown for the victory between Orlando, Buff, McCoy and Jeremy Pitts.

With an open track in front of him, Orlando stayed smooth to pick up his first win of the year, while Buff held off Pitts for second with McCoy fourth and Warner fifth. Calabrese got up for sixth followed by Mike Coffey, Aaron Jacobs, Ryan Heath, Brendan Gibbons and Clow.

Richie Tobias, left, poses with Tobias All-Star Slingshot Tour winner Kyle Herve in Victory Lane after his first national series win Sunday night at Glen Ridge Motorsports Park. (The Leader-Herald/James A. Ellis)

Andy Graves and Knight brought the pro stock field to the green with Graves leading the opening lap before Knight grabbed the lead on a lap two restart.

Steve Cosselman moved up to second on a lap three restart after a scramble sent Ivan Joslin spinning in turn four. Luke Horning went pitside after the scramble with front end damage and did not return.

Knight held his advantage on the restart but had new challengers with Jim Normoyle and Nick Stone taking over second and third.

Stone moved up to challenge Knight but could not pull off the pass for the lead before Knight crossed under the checkers for his first win of the year. Stone was second, followed by Graves, Normoyle and Devon Camenga. David Demorest, Steve Cosselman, Randy Cosselman, Scott Lawrence and Jim Groncki round out the top 10.

Haslun wired the field in the 12-lap street stock main event with Jeff Meltz, Damon Anderson, Chris Murphy and Ken Allen completing the top five.

Richie Tobias, left, poses with Tobias Junior Slingshot Tour winner Brock "Bam Bam" Pinkerous in Victory Lane after his first series win Sunday night at Glen Ridge Motorsports Park. (The Leader-Herald/James A. Ellis)

Chris Darrow set the early pace in the All-Star Slingshot tour feature before he was sidelined with engine problems.

Herve inherited the lead and was joined by Dan Ballard at the point along with Andrew Turpin, Nick Auspelmyer and Mike Bellinger.

The race was red-flagged as a scramble on the restart sent Turpin’s slingshot snap rolling between turns one and two. Turpin climbed from the slingshot uninjured.

Herve and Ballard ran several laps side-by-side often swapping leads within a lap before Herve caught a break in traffic to get ahead and pull away to his first tour win of his career. Ballard was second followed by Tyler Vadney, Bellinger, Bryan Preville, Brett Putman, Brian Toby, Todd Morey, Scott Sprague and Andrew Millard.

Pinkerous and Ryan McCoy staged a 15-lap battle on the front end of the junior slingshot feature with Pinkerous holding off McCoy for his fourth-straight win. Sloan Cherko came home third with Corky Warner fourth and Matthew Backus fifth.

Racing returns to The Ridge next Sunday with the Palmer Service Center Fueled by Sunoco Modified Series joining a double-points night for the weekly divisions.