Fort Plain hands out awards at spring sports reception

Ticonderoga's Russell Gallo slides under the tag of Fort Plain catcher Brady Fureno in the fifth inning of the regional championship game at the College of St. Rose in Albany on June 8. Fureno and Bryce Thibodeau earned the Rich Bower Memorial Baseball Award at the Fort Plain varsity and junior varsity spring sports reception. (The Leader-Herald/James A. Ellis)

FORT PLAIN — The Fort Plain varsity and junior varsity spring sports teams were recognized at a reception June 13 in the junior-senior high school auditorium.

Presentations of the annual all-sports awards and memorial awards were also part of the event.

Family members and friends of any of the varsity and junior varsity sports teams were invited to attend the reception.

Jaxson Yacowenia and Emily Abrams earned the William Doerrer & Son Outstanding Senior Boy and Girl Awards, respectively.

Cara Porter earned the girls Coaches Most Improved Girl Award , while the boys Coaches Most Improved Boy Award went to Troy Butler.

Michaela Stockwell was named the girls Board of Education Outstanding Underclass Award winner, while Brady Fureno won the boys Board of Education Outstanding Underclass Award.

The Board of Education Senior Sportsmanship Award went to Quinn Jones and Jalen Hall.

The Fort Plain baseball team won the Section II Class C championship this spring after winning the Class D title in 2018.

Bryce Thibodeau and Brady Fureno earned the Rich Bower Memorial Baseball Award, while Troy Butler earned the Bo Baker Memorial Award for highest batting average, finishing with a .530 average.

Josh Nellis (Shannon Fureno Memorial Baseball Award), Jalen Hall (D’Arcangelis Super-Sub Award), Taylor Gifford (Most Improved), Jaxson Yacowenia (Defensive Player), John Cortese (Outstanding Pitcher) and Dawson Nare (Second Effort) also earned baseball awards.

Butler was named the Western Athletic Conference Mohawk Division co-Most Valuable Player, while, Thibodeau, Cortese, Fureno, Nellis and Nate Buley were named WAC all-stars.

From the Fort Plain-Oppenheim-Ephratah/St. Johnsville softball team, Stockwell (Most Valuable Player), Faith-Araya Rende (D’Arcangelis Super Sub Award) and Jenna Reese (Second Effort) earned awards.

Stockwell also was named the Western Athletic Conference Mohawk Division Most Valuable Player, while Reese, as well as OESJ’s Fontana LaCoppola were named first-team all-stars. OESJ’s Abby Johnson was named a second-team WAC Mohawk Division all-star.

Sherry Huang earned the Roland Littrell Jr. Memorial “Love of Running” and Rich Bower Memorial Track & Cross Country awards for the girls track and field team, while Jones collected the Noah Fredericks Memorial Senior Track and Outstanding Field awards. Also earning girls track and field awards were Cheyanne Wahl (Second Effort), Molli Bates (Outstanding Track) and Sarah Florian (Outstanding Track & Field).

The boys track and field awards went to Howie Kelley (Second Effort), Mekhi Lanier (Outstanding Track), Hunter Logan (Outstanding Field), Joe Le Moine (Outstanding Track & Field), Patrick Murphy (Noah Fredericks Memorial Senior Track Award) and Seth Wintermute (Roland Littrell Jr. Memorial “Love of Running” Award).

Jones earned the Carol Christie Mancini Memorial Cheerleading Award, while Jasmin Rouse claimed the Jane Karker Memorial Cheerleading Coach’s Award.

In addition, 16 of 17 varsity sports teams were honored by the New York State Public High School Athletic Association as scholar-athlete teams. To qualify, 75 percent of the team members needed to have an average of 90 or higher. As a result, Fort Plain earned a School of Excellence Award from the NYSPHSAA.

Thibodeau was named the Western Athletic Conference Mohawk Division Scholar Male Athlete.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)