Several area baseball players selected as WAC all-stars

Fort Plain’s Troy Butler throws to the plate during a Section II Class C  quarterfinal game against Hoosic Valley on May 25. Butler recently was named theWestern  Athletic Conference Mohawk Division co-Most Valuable Player. (The Leader-Herald/Paul Wager)

Several area players were among those named to the 2019 Western Athletic Conference baseball all-star team.

Fort Plain, which won the WAC Mohawk Division and Section II Class C titles, had Troy Butler named Mohawk Division co-Most Valuable Player with Schoharie’s Shane Helmstadt.

The Hilltoppers also had Brady Fureno, Bryce Thibodeau, John Cortese, Nate Buley and Josh Nellis named Mohawk Division all-stars.

Oppenheim-Ephratah/St. Johnsville’s Tyler Leon, Von Baker and Jack Brundage also were named Mohawk Division all-stars.

In the Hudson Division, Fonda-Fultonville had Brady Myles, Massimo DiCaprio, Charlie Susi, Cade Kearns and Derek Duval named all-stars.

Canajoharie’s Isaiah Logan, Jack Montayne and Josh Herget also were named Hudson Division all-stars, along with Galway’s Erik Malanoski and Mayfield’s Dallas Hines.

Notre Dame-Bishop Gibbons’ Christian Baaki was named the Hudson Division MVP after helping the Golden Knights win the division title.

Bishop Gibbons also had Anthony Vicinanzo, Matt Kordziel, Colin Campbell, Jacob Trombley and Nick Kownack named Hudson Division all-stars.

Duanesburg had Andy Drescher, Matt Coons and Zack Gamache named Mohawk Division all-stars.

Rounding out the Mohawk Division all-stars were Schoharie’s Quin Barton and Josh Scheuer; and Berne-Knox-Westerlo’s Jacob Flower and Caiden Larson.

2019 Western Athletic Conference All-Stars

Hudson Division

Christian Baaki (Notre Dame-Bishop Gibbons)


Dallas Hines (Mayfield), Isaiah Logan (Canajoharie), Jack Montayne (Canajoharie), Josh Herget (Canajoharie), Erik Malanoski (Galway), Brady Myles (Fonda-Fultonville), Massimo DiCaprio (Fonda-Fultonville), Cade Kearns (Fonda-Fultonville), Charlie Susi (Fonda-Fultonville), Derek Duval (Fonda-Fultonville), Anthony Vicinanzo (Notre Dame-Bishop GIbbons), Matt Kordziel (Notre Dame-Bishop GIbbons), Colin Campbell (Notre Dame-Bishop GIbbons), Jacob Trombley (Notre Dame-Bishop GIbbons), Nick Kownack (Notre Dame-Bishop GIbbons)

Mohawk Division

Co-MVP’s: Shane Helmstadt (Schoharie), Troy Butler (Fort Plain)


Andy Drescher (Duanesburg), Zack Gamache (Duanesburg), Matt Coons (Duanesburg), Brady Fureno (Fort Plain), Bryce Thibodeau (Fort Plain), John Cortese (Fort Plain), Nate Buley (Fort Plain), Josh Nellis (Fort Plain), Quin Barton (Schoharie), Josh Scheuer (Schoharie), Tyler Leon (Oppenheim-Ephratah/St. Johnsville), Jack Brundage (Oppenheim-Ephratah/St. Johnsville), Von Baker (Oppenheim-Ephratah/St. Johnsville), Caiden Larson (Berne-Knox-Westerlo), Jacob Flower (Berne-Knox-Westerlo)