Parslow honored by Sage Colleges

Fonda-Fultonville graduate Emily Parslow was named co-Female Athlete of the Year at Sage. (Photo submitted)

ALBANY — The Sage Colleges’ department of athletics gathered to recognize and honor the outstanding performances of the 2018-19 year with the naming of the athletic award winners for the 17 varsity athletic teams. In addition to awarding the Gator Award, for the Most Outstanding Player, the department also named the 2018-19 Female and Male Rookies of the Year as well as the 2018-2019 Female and Male Athletes of the Year. Sage also selected the Dean Sharon Robinson Senior Male and Female Scholar-Athletes of the Year, which is given to the senior student-athlete with the highest overall grade point average, as well as the Aggie Stillman Perseverance Award.

In her nearly 40-year career at Sage, Aggie was a friend, mentor, professor, class advisor, and the Gators’ biggest fan. She radiated pride and enthusiasm in everything she did, while embodying the Sage spirit of patience and perseverance against any and all odds.

In her honor, Sage bestows The Aggie Stillman Perseverance Award to the person affiliated with Sage Athletics that best exemplifies those traits which made Aggie so special. Aggie waged a personal battle with cancer for more than 20 years finally succumbing to the disease on May 13, 2008.

Sage selected senior men’s basketball player Chris Kidd (Troy/Beacon) as the Male Athlete of the Year, while senior women’s basketball player Emily Parslow (Fonda/Fonda-Fultonville) and senior women’s soccer player Samantha Trimblett (Monroe/Monroe Woodbury) shared Female Athlete of the Year honors.

New this year, Sage added a Female and Male Rookie Athlete of the Year. The first honorees recognized were women’s cross country and track and field performer Kerry Flower (Schenectady/Schalmont) and men’s lacrosse midfielder David Baraniuk (Budd Lake, N.J./Mount Olive).

Senior women’s basketball student-athlete Danielle Stannard (Valley Falls/Hoosic Valley Central) and men’s soccer captain Ryan Fairweather (Middletown/Minisink Valley) were named the Dean Sharon Robinson Scholar-Athlete Award recipients.

Men’s soccer player Anthony Williamson (Beacon/Beacon) was selected as the recipient of the Aggie Stillman Perseverance Award for overcoming a serious injury while playing and returning from what should have been a season-ending injury.

Additionally Sage selected the Fan of the Year, which was bestowed to Sage faculty member, Dr. Kim Frederick for her passion to support Sage’s athletic department and the student-athletes.

Sage also awarded the Gator of the Year to members of the varsity teams, often awarded to the team’s most valuable player, the Gators of the Year status was bestowed to the following individuals in these sports:

Men’s Golf — sophomore Blake Pritchard (Malone/Franklin Academy)

Men’s Cross Country — senior Jarryd Wick (Ayers, Mass./E.F. Parker School)

Women’s Cross Country — senior Victoria Opalka (Fort Johnson/Broadalbin-Perth)

Women’s Soccer — senior Samantha Trimblett (Monroe/Monroe Woodbury)

Field Hockey — freshman Brooke Perry (Hampton/Granville)

Women’s Tennis — junior Rebecca Jackson (Saugerties/John A. Coleman)

Women’s Volleyball — freshman Emma Parkington (Dalton, Mass./Wahconah Regional)

Men’s Soccer — freshman Christian Vaalstuen (Lillestrom, Norway/Lambertseter Athletic)

Women’s Basketball — senior Danielle Stannard (Valley Falls/Hoosic Valley Central)

Men’s Basketball — junior Darius Denmark (Orlando, Fla//Evans)

Men’s Volleyball — senior Zackery Karl (West Monroe/Central Square)

Women’s Lacrosse — junior Anne Risler (Albany/Academy of the Holy Names)

Men’s Lacrosse — freshman David Baraniuk (Budd Lake, N.J./Mount Olive)

Men’s Tennis — junior Tyler Schnaible (Ballston Lake/Shenendehowa)

Softball — senior Lindsey Decker (Ballston Lake/Shenendehowa)

Men’s Outdoor Track and Field — sophomore Ellis Richardson (Hudson/Hudson)

Women’s Outdoor Track and Field — freshman Kerry Flower (Schenectady/Schalmont)

Athletic Honor Society

The Sage College’s Intercollegiate Athletic Honor Society recognizes junior, senior, or graduate level student-athletes, who have maintained a cumulative grade-point-average of 3.3 or better and have participated as a member of a varsity team for at least two seasons.

Among those honored were Ariannah Logan (Canajoharie), Miranda Nethaway (Fonda-Fultonville), Emily Parslow (Fonda-Fultonville), Victoria Opalka (Broadalbin-Perth) and Joanna Tavolaro (Broadalbin-Perth)

Seniors honored

The Sage athletic department also honored their senior student-athletes at a separate event awarding each performer a Sage blanket and a stole that was worn at their graduation May 11. This year Sage was blessed to add 39 student-athletes to the list of graduates.

That group included Ariannah Logan (Women’s Soccer/Canajoharie), Jordyn Logan (Women’s Soccer/Canajoharie), Miranda Nethaway (Women’s Volleyball/Fonda-Fultonville), Victoria Opalka (Women’s Cross Country, Women’s Track & Field/Broadalbin-Perth) and Emily Parslow (Women’s Basketball/Fonda-Fultonville).


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)