Danny Varin picks up modified win at Fonda

Danny Varin poses in Victory Lane after winning of the modified twin 20-lap features Saturday at Fonda Speedway. (The Leader-Herald/James A. Ellis)

FONDA — With double features on the docket for the modified and 602 sportsman divisions, no one was able to pull off a sweep Saturday night at Fonda Speedway,

Stewart Friesen picked the win in the first 20-lap sprint for the modifieds but Danny Varin fought off Friesen and Rocky Warner to pick up his first win of the season in the second 20-lapper.

Brian Calabrese picked up his second win of the season in the held-over 602 sportsman feature, while Cody Clark made a three-wide move around a lapped car with two laps to go to edge Tony Farone for the victory in the regularly scheduled sportsman main event.

Cousin Luke Horning picked up his second straight and fourth win in seven weeks in the pro stock division, while Rich Christman won the limited sportsman main event and Jason Samrov took home the victory in the street stock division.

Also honored with NYSSCA Night awards were David Constantino and Friesen (modifieds), Ivan Joslin and Horning (pro stock), Stephen Young and Samrov (street stock), Farone and Clark (602 sportsman) and Christman and E.J. McAuliffe (limited sportsman). Pep Corradi was awarded the NYSSCA wild card hard luck award.

In the first 20-lap modified feature Ryan Odasz set the early pace over Josh Hohenforst and Constantino.

Friesen used the high side of the speedway to move from 13th to third by lap three and ran nose to tail with Odasz and Hohenforst before Hohenforst took over the point on lap nine.Odasz went pitside with mechanical problems on lap 12 leaving Hohenforst and Friesen to battle for the top spot.

Friesen found a path to the front on lap 15 but had to battle through lapped traffic, allowing Hohenforst to make a last-lap charge that came up three-quarters of a car short, giving Friesen his second-straight feature win.

Constantino was third followed by Varin and Matt DeLorenzo. Rocky Warner was sixth with Michael Maresca, David Schilling, Bobby Varin and Korey Wilder rounding out the top 10.

With a four-car invert for the starting lineup in the second 20-lap feature, Danny Varin and Constantino brought the field to the green with Hohenforst and Friesen making up the second row.

Varin got to the lead early, leaving Constantino and Friesen to battle for second.

Friesen pulled into second on lap seven but had to hold off Rocky Warner’s charge to the front. Warner took over second with five laps to go and close on Varin but came up short as the checkers dropped over Varin’s hood for the win.

Friesen was third with Hohenforst fourth and DeLorenzo fifth. Brian Gleason, Elmo Reckner, Constantino, Bobby Varin and Jessica Friesen made up the second five.

Farone recovered from rolling his car in the first feature of the night to win his heat race and lead the first 23 laps of the regularly scheduled 602 sportsman feature.

Clark and Farone split the lapped car of Mike Jackson between turns one and two with Clark using the low line to come away with the lead.

Farone battled back but Clark had enough to hold off Farone for the victory. Brian Borst came home third with Nick Scavia and Calabrese rounding out the top five.

Calabrese won the held over 25 lap 602 sportsman feature over Joe Orlando, Chad Edwards, Kurtis Hohensheldt and Tim Hartman Jr.

Nick Stone got the to front of the 20-lap pro stock main event early with Joslin and Bill Knapp.

Horning picked his way through the field and pulled into second with six laps remaining.

A late-race caution set up a four-lap sprint to the finish with Horning getting the top spot as Stone slid high allowing Joslin and Josh Coonradt to slip past on the final lap. Stone crossed the line fourth with Kenny Gates fifth.

Fonda Speedway

June 8 Results

SUNOCO MODIFIED TWIN 20 FEATURE #1 FINISH – 20-LAPS – STEWART FRIESEN, Josh Hohenforst, Dave Constantino, Danny Varin, Matt DeLorenzo, Rocky Warner, Michael Maresca, David Schilling, Bobby Varin, Korey Wilder, Elmo Reckner, Craig Hanson, Brian Gleason, Darwin Greene, Vinny Sanganetti, Steve Akers, Jessica Friesen, Roger Henion Jr., Allison Ricci, Scott Huber, Ed Harris, Cody Bleau, Ryan Odasz, Aaron Jacobs, Pep Corradi

SUNOCO MODIFIED TWIN 20 FEATURE #2 FINISH – 20-LAPS – DANNY VARIN, Rocky Warner, Stewart Friesen, Josh Hohenforst, Matt DeLorenzo, Brian Gleason, Elmo Reckner, Dave Constantino, Bobby Varin, Jessica Friesen, Craig Hanson, Korey Wilder, Steve Akers, Allison Ricci, Darwin Greene, Cody Bleau, Vinny Sanganetti, Ed Harris, Scott Huber, David Schilling, Roger Henion Jr., Aaron Jacobs, Michael Maresca, Pep Corradi, Ryan Odasz (DNS)

HEAT RACE WINNERS: Ryan Odasz, Pep Corradi, Danny Varin

SWAGGER FACTORY APPAREL CRATE 602 SPORTSMAN FEATURE FINISH (RAIN DELAYED FROM 5/25) – 25-LAPS – BRIAN CALABRESE, Joe Orlando, Chad Edwards, Kurtis Hohensheldt, Tim Hartman Jr., Brian Borst, Mark Mortensen, Cody Clark, Tim Dwyer, Jason Greco, Dan Santabarbara, Adam McAuliffe, Aaron Burton, JaMike Sowle, Thomas VanVorst, Josh DeMagistris, Mike Jackson, Nick Scavia, Tony Farone, Griffen Mansmith, Andrew Buff

SWAGGER FACTORY APPAREL CRATE 602 SPORTSMAN REGULARLY SCHEDULED FEATURE – 25-LAPS – CODY LARK, Tony Farone, Brian Borst, Nick Scavia, Brian Calabrese, Chad Edwards, Mark Mortensen, Adam McAuliffe, Andrew Buff, Aaron Burton, Tim Hartman Jr., Kurtis Hohensheldt, Joe Orlando, Dan Santabarbara, JaMike Sowle, Josh DeMagistris, Jason Greco, Mike Jackson, Thomas VanVorst, Tim Dwyer, Griffen Mansmith

HEAT RACE WINNERS: Tony Farone, Brian Borst, Adam McAuliffe

MONTGOMERY COUNTY OFFICE FOR AGING INC. LIMITED SPORTSMAN FEATURE FINISH – 20-LAPS – RICH CHRISTMAN, EJ McAuliffe, Brendan Gibbons, John Young, Brett Mortensen, Jack Hamm, Bill Port, Spencer Rapp, Steve Wagoner (DQ No Rev Box)

ALGONKIN MOTEL PRO STOCK FEATURE FINISH (BEST OF 8 SERIES PRESENTED BY AMERICAN RACER – 20-LAPS – LUKE HORNING, Ivan Joslin, Josh Coonradt, Nick Stone, Kenny Gates, Chuck Dumblewski, Justin Knight, Bill Knapp, David Emigh, Cassidy Wilson, Shane Henderson, Andy Graves, Beau Ballard, Jason Morrison, Randy Cosselman, Reuben Kennedy Jr., Jeff McPhail, Buck Gasner, John Roese, Jim Normoyle, Alicia Hughes

HEAT RACE WINNERS: Luke Horning, Josh Coonradt, Nick Stone

TRACKSIDE BODY WORKS STREET STOCK FEATURE FINISH – 15-LAPS – JASON SAMROV, Stephen Young, Cliff Haslun, Zach Sorrentino, Robert Wilmont, Josh Samrov, Michael Arnold, Brittany Celebucki