Fulton-Montgomery Community College athletes honored at banquet

From left, Makayla Williams, Amadou Diakite and Niaimani Marshall were honored as the Fulton-Montgomery Community College Athletes of the Year. (Photo submitted)

JOHNSTOWN — Fulton-Montgomery Community College student-athletes

and coaches gathered at HFM BOCES on Wednesday to celebrate another

successful academic and athletic year.

Each coach had the opportunity to acknowledge the Raiders for their many accomplishments on the playing field and in the classroom.

The academic athletes of the year were honored. The female and male academic athletes of the year were volleyball’s Michelle Ferraino and baseball’s Noah Wygel.

A total of 27 student-athletes were recognized for their grade point average being a 3.0 or better.

The co-female Athlete of the Year award went to bowling’s Makayla Williams and women’s basketball’s Niaimani Marshall. The male athlete of the year was presented to men’s basketball’s Amadou Diakite.

Men’s basketball coach Ed Collar was honored for being named Conference and Region Coach of the Year.

Bowling coach Tom Rathbun was also recognized for being named Conference Bowling Coach of the Year.

Each year through the College Foundation the Kevin Chrisman Memorial Scholarship Fund awards graduating baseball players based on their performance academically and athletically.

The scholarship is in honor of former FMCC Raider Baseball player Kevin Chrisman who was a two-year catcher with the Raiders.

The recipients of this year’s award were Noah Wygel, Josh McCaffrey and Dan Parslow.

Individual Player Awards

Men’s Soccer

Co-MVP: Evan Luck, Mike Friguletto

Coach’s Award: Jefferson Jurado


MVP: Tesa Brody

Coach’s Award: Abigail Pritchard and Destiny Prather

Cross Country

Coach’s Award: Travis Geniti, Clane Newcomer and Nick Ferrera

Women’s Basketball

MVP: Niaimani Marshall

Coach’s Award: Shelby Dopp and Barbara-Inez McKinney

Men’s Basketball

MVP: Amadou Diakite

Coach’s Award: Austin Jones and Juwan Malone

Men’s Bowling

MVP: Bryan Green

Most Improved: Brandon Little

Coach’s Award: Richard Taylor

Women’s Bowling

MVP: Makayla Williams

Most Improved: Shayla Staves

Coach’s Award: Rebecca Van Deusen


MVP: Mallory Baldwin

Defensive: Marque Pacillo-Herr

Coach’s Award: Juliana Buyce


Awards will be announced at the conclusion of their season.

Conference and Regional Awards

Men’s Soccer

Ahmed Mourad (All Conference)


Brianna Port (Mountain Valley All-Conference), Tesa Brody

(Mountain Valley All-Conference)

Men’s Basketball

Amadou Diakite (1st Team All-Region and All-Conference),

Jaleel Jean Jacques (3rd Team All-Region and All-Conference),

Juwan Malone (2nd Team All -Conference)

Women’s Basketball

Niaimani Marshall (1st Team All-Region and All-Conference),

DiAsia DeBoue (3rd Team All-Region and All-Conference),

McKiea Weekes (3rd Team All-Region and All-Conference)

Men’s Bowling

Bryan Green (Conference Bowler of the Year), Ethan Hadcock

(1st Team All-Conference), Richard Taylor (2nd Team All-Conference),

Hunter Meher (2nd Team All-Conference)

Women’s Bowling

Makayla Williams (1st Team All-Conference and All-Region),

Shayla Staves (2nd Team All Conference), Allie Borst (2nd

Team All Conference), Rebecca Van Deusen (2nd Team All


Raiders 3.0 Club

Men’s Soccer: Mike Friguletto, Jefferson Jurado, Cameron


Volleyball: Michelle Ferraino, Raina Danylak, Tesa Brody,

Briana Dean

Bowling: Allie Borst, Angelique LaFreniere, Makayla

Williams, Andrew Sitterly

Women’s Basketball: Camryn Meca, Shelby Dopp, Niaimani


Men’s Baskettball: Amadou Diakite

Baseball: Dan Parslow, Noah Wygel, Blake Carey, Alex Van-

Deusen, William Newcomb, Josh McCaffrey, Derek Lee

Softball: Juliana Buyce, Alex Benfatti, Lyndsay Siudy