Constantino nabs first modified win at Fonda

Pep Corradi (21P) and Demitrios Drellos race through turn three during modified action Saturday at Fonda Speedway. (The Leader-Herald/James A. Ellis)

FONDA — The checkers flew for the black flag team Saturday night at Fonda Speedway.

Driving a Cyclone chassis of his creation, David Constantino parked the Laudy Hoyenga-owned No. 34 in Victory Lane at the Track of Champions.

Joining Constantino with victories on Bob Hilbert Sportswear, Regional Animal Shelter night were Adam McAuliffe (602 sportsman), Luke Horning (pro stock), E.J. McAuliffe (limited sportsman) and Dave Horning Sr. (street stock).

The front row of Bobby and Danny Varin brought the field of 28 Sunoco modifieds to the green with Danny Varin taking the early lead.

Constantino, who started fourth, jumped to the outside and rode the high line into the lead on the third lap.

Brian Gleason (3G) and Scott Huber (51) race through turn three during modified action Saturday at Fonda Speedway. (The Leader-Herald/James A. Ellis)

Constantino distanced himself from the second-place battle between Danny Varin and Bobby Varin as David Schilling and Ryan Odasz completed the top five.

The field caught up to Constantino when he got hung up in traffic, bringing Danny Varin within striking distance.

At the midway point, Constantino cleared the traffic but Bobby Varin had pulled into second and put a challenge on the leader.

Danny Varin cleared the traffic and moved back into the runner-up spot but could not close on the leader as he had to battled with his father for the spot.

Constantino finished the caution-free feature with more than a three-second advantage over Bobby Varin. Danny Varin held on for third over Schilling and Josh Hohenforst completed the top five. Odasz, Rocky Warner, Craig Hanson, Michael Maresca and Demetrios Drellos rounded out the top 10.

Adam McAuliffe (234) and Brian Borst race through turn three during sportsman action Saturday at Fonda Speedway. (The Leader-Herald/James A. Ellis)

Adam McAuliffe started on the front row of the Swagger Factory 602 sportsman feature and never looked back as he led all 25 laps of the $1,000-to-win event.

Tim Hartman Jr. recovered from a flat tire on lap seven to get up for a second-place finish. Tony Farone, Chad Edwards and Brian Pessolano waged a race-long battle for the second through fifth spots before Hartman got through on a restart.

Farone crossed the line third followed by Edwards and Pessolano. Cody Clark came home in sixth, followed by Aaron Burton, Andrew Buff, Brian Calabrese and Jeremy Pitts.

Nick Stone held off Horning for the early lead in the 20-lap pro stock main event before Horning slipped past on lap 15.

Stone got the lead back on a lap 17 restart but cold not hold the point as Horning stormed back to the front with two laps to go and pulled away for his first win of the season.

Luke Horning (2H) and David Emigh through turn three during pro stock action Saturday at Fonda Speedway. (The Leader-Herald/James A. Ellis)

Stone was second with Josh Coonradt third, David Emigh fourth and Jason Morrison fifth. Kim Duell, Justin Knight, Bill Knapp, Reuben Kennedy Jr. and Cassidy Wilson completed the top 10.

Michael Arnold led all but the final quarter mile of the 15-lap street stock feature as Horning made a late-race charge to move from fourth the lead in the final two laps to claim his 60th career street stock feature win.

Arnold was second followed by Jason Samrov, Stephen Young, Rob VanAernam, Cliff Haslun and Brittany Celebucki.

John Young set the early pace in the limited sportsman feature before E.J. McAuliffe moved to the front to claim his second-straight feature win. Young was second followed by Dave Richer, Tucker O’Connor and Rich Christman.


Harry Shaffer (1H) and Jason Greco (12J) race through turn three during sportsman action Saturday at Fonda Speedway. (The Leader-Herald/James A. Ellis)




MAY 4, 2019

Sunoco Modified Feature Finish (30 laps): DAVE CONSTANTINO, Bobby Varin, Danny Varin, David Schilling, Josh Hohenforst, Ryan Odasz, Rocky Warner, Craig Hanson, Michael Maresca, Demetrious Drellos, Brian Gleason, Korey Wilder, Pep Corradi, Vinny Sanganetti, Scott Huber, Steve Akers, Darwin Greene, Elmo Reckner, Willy Decker, Roger Henion Jr., Aaron Jacobs, Cody Bleau, Ed Harris

HEAT RACE WINNERS: Josh Hohenforst, Bobby Varin, Craig Hanson

Swagger Factory Apparel Crate 602 Sportsman Feature Finish (25 laps, $1,000 to win thanks to Eric Orozco Racing): ADAM MCAULIFFE, Tim Hartman Jr., Tony Farone, Chad Edwards, Brian Pessolano, Cody Clark, Aaron Burton, Andrew Buff, Brian Calabrese, Jeremy Pitts, JaMike Sowle, Mark Mortensen, Tim Dwyer, Brian Borst, Dan Santabarbara, Josh DeMagistris, Joe Orlando, Joe Williams, Scott McCoy, Jason Greco, Mike Jackson, Nick Scavia, Jeremy Tuttle, Griffen Mansmith, Kurtis Hohensheldt, Kathy Bellen, Harry Shaffer, Ron Proctor, Ray Zemken (DNS), Robert Bublak (DNS)

HEAT RACE WINNERS: Brian Calabrese, Adam McAuliffe, Tim Hartman Jr.

Montgomery County Office for Aging Limited Sportsman Feature Finish (15 laps): EJ MCAULIFFE, John Young, Dave Richer, Tucker O’Connor, Rich Christman, Michael McCallion, Dylan Eldred, Dana Camenga, Alan Hanson, Brendan Gibbons, Jason Baker, Spencer Rapp, Brett Mortensen, Bill Port, David Boisclair (DNS)

HEAT RACE WINNERS: Rich Christman, EJ McAuliffe

Algonkin Motel Pro Stock Feature Finish (20 laps): LUKE HORNING, Nick Stone, Josh Coonradt, David Emigh, Jason Morrison, Kim Duell, Justin Knight, Bill Knapp, Reuben Kennedy Jr., Cassidy Wilson, Jim Normoyle, Kenny Gates, Steve Cosselman, Andy Graves, Beau Ballard, Chuck Dumblewski, John Roese, Buck Gasner, Devon Camenga, Alicia Highes, Ivan Joslin, Randy Cosselman, Adam Warner, Ralph Isabella (DNS)

HEAT RACE WINNERS: Ivan Joslin, Nick Stone, Kenny Gates

Trackside Body Works Street Stock Feature Finish (15 laps): DAVE HORNING SR., Michael Arnold, Jason Samrov, Stephen Young, Rob VanAernam, Cliff Haslun, Brittany Celebucki


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)


Starting at $4.75/week.

Subscribe Today