Area players named to all-state team

Oppenheim-Ephratah/St. Johnsville's Tyler Leon (34) puts up a shot over Harrisville's Peyton Schmitt during the New York State Public High School Athletic Association Class D championship game at Floyd L. Maines Veterans Memorial Arena in Binghamton on March 17. Leon was named to the New York State Sportswriters Association boys basketball Class D all-state first team, while Schmitt was named Class D Player of the Year.

Several area players were among those named to the New York State Sportswriters Association boys basketball all-state team.

The all-state teams in Class B, C and D were announced.

Oppenheim-Ephratah/St. Johnsville, which reached the Class D state title game and won the Section II Class D title, had Tyler Leon named to the first team in Class D, while Jack Brundage was named to the third team. Leon, a senior, averaged 16.6 points for the Wolfpack, while Brundage, a senior, averaged 11.7 points per game.

Wells, which won the Section VII Class D title, had Tre Zimmerman named to the seventh team in Class D. Zimmerman, a senior, averaged 15.7 points per game this season. Wells senior Coby Stuart was named honorable mention in Class D, along with Northville senior Nate Reidell.

Fonda-Fultonville junior Jackson Atty was named to the 14th team in Class B after averaging 21.6 points per game this season.

Johnstown senior Matthew Boyle was named honorable mention in Class B. Boyle surpassed the 1,000-point mark for his career this season.

Mayfield senior Garret Delaney was named to the sixth team in Class C. Delaney, who averaged 19.7 points per game this season, will play for the College of Saint Rose next year. Mayfield sophomore Trevon Gifford was named to the ninth team after averaging 19.7 points per game this season. Both Delaney and Gifford passed the 1,000-point mark for their careers this season.

Canajoharie’s Luke VanSlyke was named honorable mention in Class C. He surpassed the 1,000-point mark for his career this season.

Several other Section II players were among those named to the all-state team.

In Class B, Glens Falls senior Joseph Girard III was named Player of the Year for the second straight season. He also was named a first-team all-state for the fourth consecutive season. Girard, who will play for Syracuse University next year, averaged 48.7 points per game this season, leading the Indians to the state and Federation Class B titles. He also was named state Player of the Year in football after leading Glens Falls to the Class B title for the second time in the last three years.

Schalmont’s Shane O’Dell (second team), Catskill’s Justice Brantley (10th team), Glens Falls’ Trent Girard (12th team), Watervliet’s Messiah Mallory (13th team) and Schalmont’s L.J. Randle (16th team) earned all-state honors, while Schuylerville’s Nick Budesheim and Hudson’s Lavon Hernandez were named honorable mention.

Lake George, which reached the state semifinals in Class C, had Mason Flatley (first team) and Chris Becker (second team) earn all-state honors.

Other Section II players named all-state in Class C included Hoosick Falls’ Jon Kempf (fifth team) and Maple Hill’s Nate Mannion (seventh team). Hadley-Luzerne’s Danny McMahon, Berne-Knox-Westerlo’s Zeke Pulliam, Hoosick Falls’ Tristan Williams and Granville’s Jarrett Williams were named honorable mention in Class C.

Cooperstown senior Jack Lambert, who averaged 24 points a game, was named Class C Player of the Year. Lambert helped the Hawkeyes win the state title.

Argyle’s Peyton Lufkin was named to the fourth team in Class D, while Germantown’s Bryan Bathrick, Hartford’s Gavon Darfler, North Warren’s Anthony Girard and Fort Ann’s Luke Loso were named honorable mention.

The Class D player of the year was Peyton Schmitt. The Harrisville senior averaged 19.3 points a game this winter, leading the Pirates to the Class D state title.

The Class AA and A selections will be announced this week.

New York State Sportswriters Association Boys Basketball All-State Team

Section II & Area Selections


Player of the Year

Joseph Girard III (Glens Falls)

First Team

Joseph Girard III (Glens Falls)

Second Team

Shane O’Dell (Schalmont)

10th Team

Justice Brantley (Catskill)

12th Team

Trent Girard (Glens Falls)

13th Team

Messiah Mallory (Watervliet)

14th Team

Jackson Atty (Fonda-Fultonville)

16th Team

L.J. Randle (Schalmont)

Honorable Mention

Matthew Boyle (Johnstown), Nick Budesheim (Schuylerville), Lavon Fernandez (Hudson)


Player of the Year

Jack Lambert (Cooperstown)

First Team

Mason Flatley (Lake George)

Second Team

Chris Becker (Lake George)

Fifth Team

Jon Kempf (Hoosick Falls)

Sixth Team

Garret Delaney (Mayfield)

Seventh Team

Nate Mannion (Maple Hill)

Ninth Team

Trevon Gifford (Mayfield)

Honorable Mention

Danny McMahon (Hadley-Luzerne), Zeke Pulliam (Berne-Knox-Westerlo), Luke VanSlyke (Canajoharie), Tristan Williams (Hoosick Falls), Jarrett Williams (Granville)


Player of the Year

Peyton Schmitt (Harrisville)

First Team

Tyler Leon (Oppenheim-Ephratah/St. Johnsville)

Third Team

Jack Brundage (Oppenheim-Ephratah/St. Johnsville)

Fourth Team

Peyton Lufkin (Argyle)

Seventh Team

Tre Zimmerman (Wells)

Honorable Mention

Bryan Bathrick (Germantown), Gavon Darfler (Hartford), Anthony Girard (North Warren), Luke Loso (Fort Ann), Nate Reidell (Northville), Coby Stewart (Wells)