Gloversville’s Philo named Foothills MVP

Gloversville's Harmony Philo (10) fights off the double-team by Amsterdam's Charli Beekman (5) and Sydney Hoefs (12) to get off a shot during a Foothills Council game at Amsterdam High School on Jan. 10. Philo recently was named the Foothills Council's Most Valuable Player. (The Leader-Herald/James A. Ellis)

Several area players were among those named to the 2018-19 Foothills Council girls basketball all-star team.

Gloversville’s Harmony Philo was named the league’s Most Valuable Player.

Amsterdam’s Jackie Stanavich and Kendra Lavery were named first-team all-stars, while Johnstown’s Anna Lee, Amsterdam’s Andie Gannon and Broadalbin-Perth’s Makenzie Smith were named to the second team.

Amsterdam’s Elena Fedullo and Antonia May were named honorable mention.

Queensbury’s Hope Sullivan and Hailey Ballard were named to the first team, along with Hudson Falls’ Brinley Inglee.

Scotia-Glenville’s Ashlyn O’Neil and South Glens Falls’ Sydney Hart were named to the second team.

Glens Falls had Felicity Williams and Anna Bayle named honorable mention, while Scotia-Glenville’s Asia Winney and Mikyla Mitchell also earned honorable-mention status.

Rounding out the honorable-mention selections were Queensbury’s Meghan O’Connor and South Glens Falls’ Hannah Breen.

2018-19 Foothills Council Girls Basketball All-Stars

MVP: Harmony Philo (Gloversville)

First Team

Hope Sullivan (Queensbury), Hailey Ballard (Queensbury), Jackie Stanavich (Amsterdam), Kendra Lavery (Gloversville), Brinley Inglee (Hudson Falls)

Second Team

Ashlyn O’Neil (Scotia-Glenville), Anna Lee (Johnstown), Makenzie Smith (Broadalbin-Perth), Sydney Hart (South Glens Falls), Andie Gannon (Amsterdam)

Honorable Mention

Elena Fedullo (Amsterdam), Antonia May (Amsterdam), Felicity Williams (Glens Falls), Anna Bayle (Glens Falls), Meghan O’Connor (Queensbury), Asia Winney (Scotia-Glenville), Mikyla Mitchell (Scotia-Glenville), Hannah Breen (South Glens Falls)