Hilltoppers win WAC bowling tournament

LATHAM — The Fort Plain boys won the Western Athletic Conference Bowling Tournament, while the girls placed second in the tournament bowled at Spare Time Lanes.

The Hilltoppers edged Bishop Gibbons 2,732-2,727 in total pins to win the tournament championship. The Lady Hilltoppers were runner-up to Middleburgh 2,607-2,313.

Middleburgh placed third in the boys standings with 2,705 pins, while Canajoharie was fourth with 2,532, followed by Fonda-Fultonville (2,300), Oppenheim-Ephratah/St. Johnsville (2,370), Duanesburg (2,230), Mayfield (2,185), Schoharie (2,091) and Berne-Knox-Westerlo (1,635).

Canajoharie placed third in the girls tournament with 2,148 pints, followed by Schoharie (2,125), Mayfield (1,912), Duanesburg (1,896), Berne-Knox-Westerlo (1,810), Fonda-Fultonville (1,444) and Oppenheim-Ephratah/St. Johnsville.

Bishop Gibbons’ Alex Belcher rolled the high triple at the tournament with a 651, while Middleburgh’s Andrew Miaski turned in the high single with a 235.

Middleburgh’s Carolyne Shultes rolled the high triple for the girls with a 635, while Middleburgh’s Jaidyn Rose had the high single of 246.

Bishop Gibbons won the regular-season boys title over Fort Plain, while Middleburgh won the regular-season girls title over Schoharie.

Middleburgh’s Tyler Mann earned high average on the season with a 201, while Middleburgh’s Andrew Miaski recorded the high triple of 756 and Duanesburg’s Eland Colon had the high single with a 290.

Duanesburg’s Kylie Largeteau finished the season with the high average for the girls with a 199, while Rose recorded the high triple with an 811 and Shultes took high single with a 255.

Connor barnes led the Fonda-Fultonville boys with a 508 series, while Ethan Auspelmyer added a 504 series.

Mureen McGaha led the FFCS girls with a 295 series.

Mann and Largeteau were named WAC MVP’s

Named first-team all-stars for the boys were Canajoharie’s Dian Dimezza, Middleburgh’s Miaski, Bishop Gibbons’ Joe Matala and Belcher and Duanesburg’s Tyler Drexel.

Second-team all-stars include Bishop gibbons’ Evan Sawitkii, Colon, Fort Plain’s Anthony Paradiso and Brady Fureno and fonda-Fultonville’s Conner Barnes.

Middleburgh’s Carolyne and Cameryn Shultes and Rose were named first-team all-stars for the girls along with Schoharie’s Mandi Williams and Tori Harrington.

Fort Plain’s Rachel Zupparddi was a second-team selection along with Duanesburg’s Cassie Schanz, Middleburgh’s Julia Bingham and Schoharie’s Truah Mason and Mary Palameri.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)