Fort Plain hosts annual spring sports reception

FORT PLAIN — Kendall Kennedy and Jason Huang were named the Williams Doerrer & Sons Jewelers Outstanding Senior Athletes of the Year at the Fort Plain Central School Spring Sports Reception on June 14.

Rhyonn Ford and Michael Hoffman earned the FPCS Board of Education Senior Sportsmanship awards, while Emily Abrams and Brady Fureno earned the Underclassman of the Year awards.

Gabriella Jenks and Jaxson Yacowenia earned the FPCS Coaches Awards as the Most Improved in grades nine to 12.

The Rich Bower Memorial Cross Country and Track Awards went to Eliza Cechnicki, Louis Calbet, Sean Staples, Hoffman and Huang, while Hoffman and Cechnicki earned the Roland Littrell Jr. Memorial “For the Love of Running” Award.

Staples (boys) and Jasmine Van Avery (girls) earned the Noah Fredericks Senior Track Awards

Cechnicki (track), Ford (field), Abrams (track and field) and Jones (second effort) earned the girls track and field awards, while Mekhi Lanier (track), Hunter Logan (field), Staples (track and field) and Calbet (second effort) earned the boys track and field awards.

Dawson Nare claimed the Shannon Fureno Memorial Baseball Award, while Bryce Thibodeau, John Cortese and Brady Fureno earned the Rich Bower Memorial Baseball awards. Thibodeau also claimed the Bo Baker Memorial Baseball Award for highest batting average.

Yacowenia, Thibodeau, Cortese, Brady Fureno and Troy Butler all were named Western Athletic Conference Mohawk Division all-stars.

Other baseball awards went to Butler (Cy Young), Nate Buley (Rookie of the Year), Yacowenia (Defensive Player), Nare (Shannon Fureno Players Award), Ethan Schoch (D’Arcangelis Super Sub Award) and Josh Nellis (Second Effort).

From the Fort Plain softball team, Michaela Stockwell was named the WAC Mohawk Division as well as the team’s Most Valuable Player. She also was named a Section II Class D all-star.

Kennedy, Macee Lathers and Jenna Reese were named Mohawk Division first-team all-stars, while Marsh was named to the second team.

Other softball awards went to Olivia Kennedy (D’Arcangelis Super Sub) and Eryka Swank (Second Effort)

Hoffman was named Western Athletic Conference boys scholar-athlete, while Cechnicki was named Mohawk Division co-scholar-athlete.

Quinn Jones earned the Jane Karker Memorial Cheerleading Award, while Marsh earned the Carol Christie Mancini Memorial Cheerleading Award.