Racing Around: Tribute to ‘Bill Ag’ at Fonda

Saturday night Fonda Speedway will salute a man who always seemed to be in the Winner’s Circle.

The Track of Champions will host the fourth annual “Bill Ag” modified elimination race in honor of Bill Anagnostopulos a long time sponsor and supporter of the speedway and the popular after-race hangout, The Winner’s Circle restaurant.

The top five in points — Bobby Varin, Josh Hohenforst, Jeremy Wilder, Rocky Warner and Tim Fuller — are locked into the event.

A sixth competitor from the next five in the points standings — Demetrious Drellos, Jimmy Davis, Shaun Pangman, Cody Bleau and Craig Hanson, will be chosen by luck of the draw to participate.

Last year’s event proved to be quite lucrative for Tim Fuller as he won the first, second, third and fourth elimination races before falling to Ronnie Johnson in the final elimination race. Fuller ended up collecting $2212.12, while Johnson took home $1,400.

Hohenforst and Varin both took home $275, while Stewart Friesen and Wilder both netted $125 for their efforts.

Looking at the payouts that have been posted heading into Saturday’s event, it could be another big payday for someone.

With sponsorship from Rick and Tom Kietlinski, Jay DeTraglia and a sponsorship in Memory of Wayne Hazzard, the opening round winner will receive $200.

Camp Can Opener and DeTraglia have put up a total of $262.12 for the Round 2 winner, while Harry and Shelly Shaffer along with DeTraglia have put up a combined $250 for the Round 3 victor.

The Round 4 winner will receive a combined $400 from Michael Jackson/Swagger Factory Apparel, Chrissy Anagnostopulos and DeTraglia, while the winner of the final will receive $1,050 from Dirttrackdigest.com (Mike Mallett, George Smith, GT Smith) and DeTraglia.

The eliminated drivers will all receive at least $100 thanks to Lucas Oil Empire Super Sprints, Dean Reynolds, Grant Racing Engines and Chrissy Anagnostopulos. Even the driver who is chosen by the draw will get $100 from the Dirt Modified Nostalgia Tour/Thomas Coughlin.

Those prizes may increase as race time approaches as fans and businesses have been known to step up at the last minute.

The Bill Ag elimination event is not the only added event on the night as the CRSA Sprint Cars and the Classics on DIRT Nostalgia Tour cars are also scheduled.

Big night at The Ridge

There will be fireworks in the sky as well on the track Sunday at the Glen Ridge Motorsports Park.

The 602 Crate Modifieds are scheduled to battle in the Stars and Stripes 50 with $1,000 going to the winner.

A fireworks display is on tap following the race program that will include the limited sportsman, 4-cylinder mini stocks, pro stocks. street stocks and slingshots. General admission for the night is $8.

Stewart Friesen takes the Big Show

Matt Sheppard’s misfortune turned into a $10,000 pay day for Stewart Friesen.

Sheppard, the winner of The Tribute two weeks ago at Albany-Saratoga Speedway returned Tuesday and looked headed for a repeat performance.

Drawing the pole, Sheppard led the opening 95 laps until making contact with a lapped car with five to go, opening the door for Friesen.

Friesen held off hard-charging Max McLaughlin for the victory. McLaughlin picked up a bonus in the Super DIRT Series event. Since Friesen has his spot locked up in main event at Super DIRT Week at Oswego in October, McLaughlin received the guaranteed starting spot.

In the twin $1,000-to-win, 20-lap features for the sportsman division, Chris Johnson fought off Scott Duell and Robert Bublak for the win in the first race, while Jeremy Pitts made a last-lap pass in traffic on Adam McAuliffe to get the win in the second.

Last Friday, former Fonda Speedway regular Jessey Mueller held off Ronnie Johnson to pick up his first career modified feature win at Albany-Saratoga Speedway.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)