FFCS hosts spring sports award event

FONDA — Chris Yarush and Brittany Castelluccio were selected as the male and female Athletes of the Year at the Fonda-Fultonville Spring Sports Awards ceremony June 4 in the high school auditorium.

Yarush also was named the James F. Minicki Memorial MVP for the boys track and field team.

Liam Viscosi (Best Sprinter), Shane Viscosi (Best Distance), Angelo Canale (Best Field) and Carter Petersen (Most Improved) also earned boys track and field team.

Castelluccio was named the James C. Lippie Memorial MVP for the girls track and field team.

Emma Rhodes (Best Sprinter), Haley Clear (Best Distance), Savannah Bell (Best Distance), Emilia Vardai-Davidson (Best Field), Alyson Shirley (Best Field) and Autumn Todd (most Improved) also earned girls track and field awards.

Brianne Egelston earned the Avis E. Lippie Memorial Most Valuable Player Award for the softball team as well as the batting title.

Jenna Santabarbara and Kelsey Denton each earned Coach’s Awards for softball, while Sierra Rose (Best Defensive Player) and Shelby Crahan (Best Newcomer) also were honored.

Massimo DiCaprio earned the Higgins Plaque as the baseball team’s Most Valuable Player, while Cade Kearns and Max Shirley shared the Best Defensive Player Award. Matt Zumbolo (Coach’s Award), Kyle Lawyer (Best Newcomer) and Luke Neff (batting title – .412 average) also earned baseball awards.

Chris Yarush, left, and Brittany Castelluccio, right, were named the Fonda-Fultonville High School male and female Athletes of the Year. (Photo submitted)