Galway’s Palaszewski shares WAC MVP honors, several area wrestlers named all-stars

Galway's Dillan Palaszewski works an arm bar during his match with Amsterdam's Eladio Montalvo on Jan. 25. Palaszewski recently was named co-MVP and a first-team Western Athletic Conference all-star. (The Leader-Herald/Paul Wager)

Several area wrestlers were among those named to the Western Athletic Conference all-star team.

Galway’s Dillan Palaszewski shared MVP honors with Duanesburg’s Zack Lawrence.

Palaszewski was a first-team all-star at 160 pounds, while Lawrence was a first-team all-star at 152 pounds.

Palaszewski, a senior, placed third at the New York State Public High School Athletic Association Wrestling Championships in the Division II Tournament. He finished the season with a 51-4 record.

Galway, which won the WAC title this season had Joey Scheeren (106), Brandon Grupe (113), Jonathan Hoyt (138) and Sam D’Alessandro (195) named first-team all-stars.

Scheeren won the Section II title and finished his freshman season with a 43-7 overall record.

Canajoharie-Fort Plain’s Cody Haig (99), Canajoharie-Fort Plain’s Hunter Congdon (170) and Fonda-Johnstown’s Na’Jon Subik (220) also earned first-team honors.

In addition to its five first-team all-stars, Galway also had Collin Bayer (126), Billy Ous (132), Riccardo Dery (152) and Russell Cook (285) named to the second team.

Fonda-Johnstown’s Owen Hicks (99) and Justin Kearns (106) also were named second-team all-stars, while Canajoharie-Fort Plain’s Jared Bentz (113), Adam Oertel (120) and Hayden Casler (195) also earned second-team honors.

Schoharie had Austin Lints (126), Dylan Callahan (132), Shawn Kendle (145) and Dominic Snyder (285) named to the first team.

Rounding out the first-team selections were Duanesburg’s David Nicolella (120) and Cadan Landauer (182).

Duanesburg also had Shayne Chiofalo (138), Spencer Whitney (145), Charlie Grygas (160) and Jacob Suits (220) named second-team all-stars.

Rounding out the second-team honorees were Berne-Knox-Westerlo’s Tyler Goodemote (170) and Schoharie’s Mohammad Elkadin (182).

2017-18 Western Athletic Conference Wrestling All-Stars

Co-MVPs: Dillan Palaszewski (Galway), Zack Lawrence (Duanesburg)

First Team

99: Cody Haig (Canajoharie-Fort Plain)

106: Joey Scheeren (Galway)

113: Brandon Grupe (Galway)

120: David Nicolella (Duanesburg)

126: Austin Lints (Schoharie)

132: Dylan Callahan (Schoharie)

138: Jonathan Hoyt (Galway)

145: Shawn Kendle (Schoharie)

152: Zack Lawrence (Duanesburg)

160: Dillan Palaszewski (Galway)

170: Hunter Congdon (Canajoharie-Fort Plain)

182: Cadan Landauer (Duanesburg)

195: Sam D’Alessandro (Galway)

220: Na’Jon Subik (Fonda-Johnstown)

285: Dominic Snyder (Schoharie)

Second Team

99: Owen Hicks (Fonda-Johnstown)

106: Justin Kearns (Fonda-Johnstown)

113: Jared Bentz (Canajoharie-Fort Plain)

120: Adam Oertel (Canajoharie-Fort Plain)

126: Collin Bayer (Galway)

132: Billy Ous (Galway)

138: Shayne Chiofalo (Duanesburg)

145: Spencer Whitney (Duanesburg)

152: Riccardo Dery (Galway)

160: Charlie Grygas (Duanesburg)

170: Tyler Goodemote (Berne-Knox-Westerlo)

182: Mohammad Elkadin (Schoharie)

195: Hayden Casler (Canajoharie-Fort Plain)

220: Jacob Suits (Duanesburg)

285: Russell Cook (Galway)