Galway locks up WAC championship

GALWAY — The Galway wrestling team wrapped up the Western Athletic COnference title with a 72-12 victory over Berne-Knox-Westerlo/Voorheesville on Tuesday.

The Golden Eagles earned three pins falls and collected nine forfeits in the match.

Jonathan Hoyt (145), Riccardo Dery (152) and Dillan Palaszewski (160) all earned pin falls for Galway.

Tyler Goodemote was the lone winner on the mat for BKW, earning a third-period pin fall over Damian Novack in the 182-pound bout. Jake Wideman collected a forfeit at 170 to round out BKW’s scoring.

Galway (20-5 overall, 5-0 WAC) is scheduled to host Amsterdam today in a non-league match at 6 p.m.

Galway 72, Berne-Knox-Westerlo 12

285: Russell Cook (G) by forfeit.

99: Double Forfeit

106: Adam Henderson (G) by forfeit.

113: Joey Scheeren (G) by forfeit.

120: Brandon Grupe (G) by forfeit.

126: Dylan Collins (G) by forfeit.

132: Billy Ous (G) by forfeit.

138: Shane Henderson (G) by forfeit.

145: Jonathan Hoyt (G) pinned Killian Fullerton, 3:32

152: Riccardo Dery (G) pinned Damien Quick, 3:33

160: Dillan Palaszewski (G) pinned Nick Pidgeon, 1:03

170: Jake Wideman (BKW) by forfeit.

182: Tyler Goodemote (BKW) pinned Damian Novack, 5:10

195: Sam D’Alessandro (G) by forfeit.

220: Ddraig Bouchard (G) by forfeit.

Ichabod Crane Duals

VALATIE — Amsterdam went 1-7 at the two-day Ichabod Crane Duals on Friday and Saturday.

Amsterdam posted its lone win over Lansingburgh (40-18)

Amsterdam lost in a tiebreaker to host Ichabod Crane after the match finished in a 36-36 draw.

The Rams also lost to Cooperstown-Milford (45-22), Watervliet-Heatly (67-18), Berlin-New Lebanon (57-18), Cairo-Durham (45-27), Duanesburg (56-24) and South Glens Falls (42-30).

Section III Dual Meet Championship

CICERO — The Dolgeville-Oppenheim-Ephratah/St. Johnville wrestling team lost both of its matches Saturday at the Section III Dual Meet Championship at Cicero-North Syracuse High School.

The Blue Devils, who were seeded 10th lost to seventh-seeded South Jefferson-Sandy Creek in the first round, 61-21.

Bradley Lamphere (113 pounds), Andrew Brado (145) and Jacob Null (152) won by pinfall for Dolgeville, while David Pierce (138) won by decision.

In the consolation round, Dolgeville dropped a 44-42 decision to ninth-seeded Mexico.

Seth Richardson (132), Brado (145), Kyle Getman (160), Riley Beaulieu (220) and Mike Krasko (285) all won by pin for the Blue Devils, while Lamphere (113) and Null (152) won by forfeit.

Second-seeded Central Valley Academy won the Division II title, defeating top-seeded Camden, 41-37, in the championship match.

Dolgeville (11-11 overall) is slated to host the Center State Conference Tournament on Saturday.

Section III Dual Meet Championship

First Round

South Jefferson-Sandy Creek 61 Dolgeville-Oppenheim-Ephratah/St. Johnsville 21

170: Anthony Rasmussen (SJSC) pinned Kyle Getman, 0:58

182: Joey Kealy (SJSC) pinned Dylan Randall, 0:23

195: Austin Kellogg (SJSC) tech. fall John Monk, 16-0

220: Joe Benedict (SJSC) pinned Riley Beaulieu, 0:51

285: Caleb Miller (SJSC) pinned Mike Krasko, 3:59

99: Aaron Briones-Cooper (SJSC) won by forfeit

106: Najuan Williams (SJSC) won by forfeit

113: Bradley Lamphere (D) pinned James Wheller, 0:37

120: Matthew Garland (SJSC) tech. fall Treay Jaquay, 16-0

126: Jon Lillie (SJSC) pinned Oscar Lozada, 0:31

132: Levi Darling (SJSC) dec. Seth Richardson, 6-4

138: David Pierce (D) dec. Marshall Coe, 4-2

145: Andrew Brado (D) pinned James Rogers, 1:03

152: Jacob Null (D) pinned Travis Benjamin, 2:43

160: Caleb Petrie (SJSC) won by forfeit

Consolation Round

Mexico 44, Dolgeville 42

182: Austin Miller (M) pinned Dylan Randall, 1:24

195: Jaden Allen (M) pinned John Monk, 2:47

220: Riley Beaulieu (D) pinned Jacob O`Reilly, 1:01

285: Mike Krasko (D) pinned Blake Wise, 1:20

99: Joseph Reed (M) won by forfeit

106: George Smith III (M) won by forfeit

113: Bradley Lamphere (D) won by forfeit

120: Dean Shambo (M) pinned Treay Jaquay, 0:45

126: Jared Gates (M) major dec. Oscar Lozada, 9-1

132: Seth Richardson (D) pinned Patrick Johnson, 3:41

138: Austin Reed (M) tech. fall David Pierce, 17-2

145: Andrew Brado (D) pinned Bryan Stock, 1:26

152: Jacob Null (D) won by forfeit

160: Kyle Getman (D) pinned Dominick Randall, 0:39

170: Joshua O`Reilly (M) won by forfeit

Note: Mexico lost one team point at 220 pounds