Area softball players named WAC all-stars

Fort Plain’s Michaela Stockwell (4) pitches to Canajoharie’s Hannah Smith during a May 15 Western Athletic Conference game. Stockwell recently was named a first-team WAC all-star. (The Leader-Herald/Bill Trojan)

Several area players were among those selected to the recently announced Western Athletic Conference softball all-star team.

Fort Plain’s Michaela Stockwell and Canajoharie’s Mackenzie Bowerman were among the four WAC representatives on the Section II all-star team. Both Stockwell and Bowerman were also named first-team WAC Mohawk Division all-stars.

Fort Plain also had Amber Douglas, Kendall Kennedy and Sierra Logan named first-team Mohawk Division all-stars, while Oppenheim-Ephratah/St. Johnsville had Caitlin Handy and Fontana LaCoppola named to the first team.

Fort Plain had Alexis Hagadorn named to the second team, while OESJ’s Meadow Arduini also earned second-team honors.

Bowerman was named a first-team Hudson Division all-star. Jenna Shepard and Mollie Krug earned first-team honors for the Lady Cougars, while Brianna DiMascio and Hannah Smith were named to the second team.

Mayfield’s Angelina Mannino, Taryn LaFontaine and Sydney Benton were named first-team Hudson Division all-stars. Karleigh VanNostrand was named to the second-team all-stars for the Lady Panthers.

Galway’s Emma Smith and Fonda-Fultonville’s Sierra Rose also were named first-team all-stars, while Middleburgh’s Jenna Warner rounded out the first-team selections.

Middleburgh’s Bailey Wood was named a WAC Section II all-star, Hudson Division MVP and a first-team Hudson Division all-star.

Fonda-Fultonville’s Brianne Egelston, Galway’s Amber Schwab, Fonda-Fultonville’s Jillian Wilder and Galway’s Hannah Darling all were named second-team Hudson Division all-stars.

Bishop Gibbons’ Hope Hiscock rounded out the second-team Hudson Division honorees.

Duanesburg’s Alexa Lombardoni was named the WAC Most Valuable Player, a WAC Section II all-star and a first-team Mohawk Division all-star. The Eagles also had Morgan Hoffman, Jenna Lees and Cassidy Schaeffer named first-team Mohawk Division all-stars.

In addition to its first-team selections, Duanesburg, which won the Mohawk Division title, had Annabelle Rieseler, Erica Schettine and Abby LeStage named second-team all-stars.

Rounding out the Mohawk Division second-team selections were Schoharie’s Bryn MacDonald, Berne-Knox-Westerlo’s Miranda Grzywaczewski and Schoharie’s Emma Touchette.

2017 Western Athletic Conference Softball All-Stars

Overall MVP: Alexa Lombardoni (Duanesburg)

WAC Section II All-Stars

Alexa Lombardoni (Duanesburg), Bailey Wood (Middleburgh), Mackenzie Bowerman (Canajoharie), Michaela Stockwell (Fort Plain)

Mohawk Division

MVP: Alexa Lombardoni (Duanesburg)

First Team

Alexa Lombardoni (Duanesburg), Michaela Stockwell (Fort Plain), Caitlin Handy (Oppenheim-Ephratah/St. Johnsville), Morgan Hoffman (Duanesburg), Jenna Lees (Duanesburg), Cassidy Schaeffer (Duanesburg), Amber Douglas (Fort Plain), Kendall Kennedy (Fort Plain), Sierra Logan (Fort Plain), Fontana LaCoppola (Oppenheim-Ephratah/St. Johnsville)

Second Team

Bryn MacDonald (Schoharie), Miranda Grzywaczewski (Berne-Knox-Westerlo), Emma Touchette (Schoharie), Alexis Hagadorn- Fort Plain), Meadow Arduini (Oppenheim-Ephratah/St. Johnsville), Annabelle Rieseler (Duanesburg), Erica Schettine (Duanesburg), Abby LeStage (Duanesburg)

Hudson Division

MVP: Bailey Wood (Middleburgh)

First Team

Bailey Wood (Middleburgh), Mackenzie Bowerman (Canajoharie), Emma Smith (Galway), Sierra Rose (Fonda-Fultonville), Jenna Shepard (Canajoharie), Mollie Krug (Canajoharie), Angelina Mannino (Mayfield), Taryn LaFontaine (Mayfield), Sydney Benton (Mayfield), Jenna Warner (Middleburgh)

Second Team

Brianne Egelston (Fonda-Fultonville), Hope Hiscock (Bishop Gibbons), Amber Schwab (Galway), Karleigh VanNostrand (Mayfield), Hannah Darling (Galway), Jillian Wilder (Fonda-Fultonville), Brianna DiMascio (Canajoharie), Hannah Smith (Canajoharie)