Area players named WAC baseball all-stars

Fonda-Fultonville's Dan Parslow (3) slides into home during an April 27 non-league game at Johnstown High School. Johnstown catcher Charlie Osborne awaits the throw. Parslow recently was named the Western Athletic Conference Hudson Division Most Valuable Player. (The Leader-Herald/James A. Ellis)

Several area players were among those selected to the recently announced Western Athletic Conference baseball all-star team.

Fonda-Fultonville’s Dan Parslow was named the Hudson Division Most Valuable Player, while Fort Plain’s Drew Fureno and Galway’s Sam Uline shared the MVP award in the Mohawk Division.

Canajoharie had Lucas Sossei, Nick Kocjan and Isaiah Logan named Hudson Division all-stars, while Fonda-Fultonville had Cade Kearns, Jackson Simpson and Miles Andersen named all-stars.

Fonda-Fultonville and Canajoharie shared the Hudson Division title this season. Fonda-Fultonville finished 9-7 overall, while Canajoharie was 11-7/

Mayfield’s Brian Graf, Brian Bentley, Hunter Young and Riley Mykel were named to the Hudson Division all-star team.

Fort Plain's Drew Fureno throws to Salem's Blake Baylor during a Section II Class D quarterfinal game May 19. Fureno recently was named Western Athletic Conference Mohawk Division Most Valuable Player. He shared the award with Galway's Sam Uline. (The Leader-Herald/Bill Trojan)

Rounding out the Hudson Division all-stars were Notre Dame-Bishop Gibbons’ Vincent Sorrentino, Manuel Santiago, Chris Kordziel and Christian Baaki; and Middleburgh’s Ben Hoelldobler.

In the Mohawk Division, Fort Plain had Brady Fureno and Bryce Thibodeau named all-stars, while Galway’s Max Conti and Shawn Kerry also were selected.

Fort Plain finished the season 16-3 overall after tying Galway for the Mohawk Division title.

Oppenheim-Ephratah/St. Johnsville’s Mike Smith and Coby Cover also were named Mohawk Division all-stars.

Rounding out the Mohawk Division selections were Duanesburg’s Boone Lynch and Andrew Drescher; Berne-Knox-Westerlo’s Michael Flower and Pat Meehan; and Schoharie’s Noah Valvo, Stephen Alescio and Shane Helnstaud.

2017 Western Athletic Conference Baseball All-Stars

Hudson Division

(Large School)

MVP: Dan Parslow (Fonda-Fultonville)


Lucas Sossei (Canajoharie), Vincent Sorrentino (Notre Dame-Bishop Gibbons), Brian Graf (Mayfield), Nick Kocjan (Canajoharie), Isaiah Logan (Canajoharie), Cade Kearns (Fonda-Fultonville), Miles Andersen (Fonda-Fultonville), Jackson Simpson (Fonda-Fultonville), Brian Bentley (Mayfield), Hunter Young (Mayfield), Riley Mykel (Mayfield), Ben Hoelldobler (Middleburgh), Manuel Santiago (Notre Dame-Bishop Gibbons), Chris Kordziel (Notre Dame-Bishop Gibbons), Christian Baaki (Notre Dame-Bishop Gibbons)

Mohawk Division

(Small School)

Co-MVP: Drew Fureno (Fort Plain), Sam Uline (Galway)


Brady Fureno (Fort Plain), Bryce Thibodeau (Fort Plain), Max Conti (Galway), Shawn Kerry (Galway), Boone Lynch (Duanesburg), Andrew Drecher (Duanesburg), Michael Flower (Berne-Knox-Westerlo), Pat Meehan (Berne-Knox-Westerlo), Mike Smith (Oppenheim-Ephratah/St. Johnsville), Coby Cover (Oppenheim-Ephratah/St. Johnsville), Noah Valvo (Schoharie), Stephen Alescio (Schoharie), Shane Helnstaud (Schoharie)