Amsterdam wrestlers earn Big 10 honors

AMSTERDAM – The Amsterdam wrestling team had 13 wrestlers selected to the recently announced Big 10 Conference all-star team.

Adam Tatun (106 pounds), Brandon Lapi (132), James Marquez (160) and Ken Garcia (195) all earned first-team honors for Amsterdam.

Lapi placed second at the New York State Public High School Athletic Association Division I (large-school) tournament, finishing his junior season with a 48-4 record.

Lapi also won a fourth-straight Section II Division I title this season.

Marquez, a senior, won the Section II Division I title and placed third at the state tournament. Marquez finished the season with a 44-10 overall record.

Garcia, a senior, posted a 38-11 record this season and won the Section II Class B title. Garcia also placed third at the Section II Division I Tournament.

Tatun, a freshman, was 21-15 this season and finished fourth at the Class B Tournament.

Jorge Rivera (99), Ian Alejandro (120), Dal Orengo (138), Dan Banewicz (152), Chris Garrison (182), Chris Lopez (220) and Joe Kelly (285) all earned second-team honors for the Rams.

Rivera, a junior, was 28-17 this season and was fourth at the Class B tourney.

Alejandro, a senior, was 24-19 this season was third at the Class B tourney, while Orengo was fifth at the Class B tourney. Orengo, a junior, was 33-15 this season.

Banewicz, a senior, was 26-18 for the Rams and was fifth at the Class B tourney.

Garrison, a freshman, was 23-18 this season and was third in Class B. Lopez, a senior, was fourth for Amsterdam at the Class B tourney and went 26-15 this season. Kelly, a freshman, was sixth at the Class B tourney and went 21-19 this season.

Amsterdam’s Josh Gonzalez (145) and Rob Santiago (170) earned honorable-mention status.

Santiago was fourth at the Class B tourney, while Gonzalez was sixth. Gonzalez, a senior, was 12-13 this season, and Santiago, a senior, was 26-20.

LaSalle had seven wrestlers named to the first team, including Lou Pondillo (99), Ryan Moore (120), Brandon Diaz (126), Joe Clemente (138), Connor Tuttle (145), Brendon Goldup (170) and Justin Tuttle.

Also named to the first team were Schenectady’s John Mendez (113), Alex Martinez (152) and Emanuel Zamora (220).

Albany had three wrestlers named to the second team, including Eli Kligerman (113), Brandon Calhoun (132) and P.J. Dunia (145).

Also named to the second team were Schenectady’s Ditaye Douglas (160) and Jerrell White (10).

Christian Brothers Academy had three wrestlers earn honorable-mention status, including Dennis Riley (138), Matt McAuliffe (160) and Fritz Pierre (182).

Also named honorable mention was Schenectady’s Nick Wagenbaugh (132).

Big 10 Wrestling All-Stars

First Team

99: Lou Pondillo (LaSalle)

106: Adam Tatun (Amsterdam)

113: John Mendez (Schenectady)

120: Ryan Moore (LaSalle)

126: Brandon Diaz (LaSalle)

132: Brandon Lapi (Amsterdam)

138: Joe Clemente (LaSalle)

145: Connor Tuttle (LaSalle)

152: Alex Martinez (Schenectady)

160: James Marquez (Amsterdam)

170: Brendon Goldup (LaSalle)

182: Justin Tuttle (LaSalle)

195: Ken Garcia (Amsterdam)

220: Emanuel Zamora (Schenectady)

285: Cody Thomason (Albany)

Second Team

99: Jorge Rivera (Amsterdam)

113: Eli Kligerman (Albany)

120: Ian Alejandro (Amsterdam)

132: Brandon Calhoun (Albany)

138: Dal Orengo (Amsterdam)

145: P.J. Dunia (Albany)

152: Dan Banewicz (Amsterdam)

160: Ditaye Douglas (Schenectady)

170: Jerell White (Schenectady)

182: Chris Garrison (Amsterdam)

220: Chris Lopez (Amsterdam)

285: Joe Kelly (Amsterdam)

Honorable Mention

132: Nick Wagenbaugh (Schenectady)

138: Dennis Riley (CBA)

145: Josh Gonzalez (Amsterdam)

160: Matt McAuliffe (CBA)

170: Rob Santiago (Amsterdam)

182: Fritz Pierre (CBA)