Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Home RSS

Lady Bills, Huskies earn all-star honors

November 14, 2012
By The Leader-Herald ( , The Leader Herald

After going 12-0 in Foothills Council play this season to earn its first outright league title since the mid-1990s, the Johnstown field hockey team was well represented on the league's recently announced all-star team.

The Lady Bills placed a total of nine players on the all-star team, with eight players earning first- or second-team honors.

Senior forwards Ashley Dona and Emma Heroth were named to the first team along with juniors Kelsi Barnholt and Hope Cerasuolo.

Article Photos

Johnstown’s Ashley?Dona, right, sends the ball past Burnt Hills-Ballston?Lake’s Nykia Leach, left, during the Section?II?Class B championship game at Shenendehowa High School in?Clifton?Park on?Nov. 4.?Dona recently was named a first-team?Foothills Council all-star. (The Leader-Herald/Paul Wager)

Dona finished her career with 39 goals and eight assists in her senior season for Johnstown, which finished with a 17-2 overall record. Dona's 39-goal total set a new single-season school record, eclipsing the previous mark of 38 set by Kayla May.

Heroth finished with 15 goals and 12 assists for the Lady Bills, while Barnholt posted 12 assists and one goal from her midfielder spot. Cerasuolo, a forward, registered 13 goals and 15 assists for the Lady Bills.

Johnstown reached the Section II Class B championship game for the fifth straight year before losing to Burnt Hills-Ballston Lake.

Gloversville's senior defender Jessica DeVoe and junior midfielder Kacie Handy also were named first-team all-stars.

Rounding out the first team were Queensbury's Emily Derway and Samantha Ballard; Glens Falls' Shea Homer and Adair Purner; South Glens Falls' Katie Washburn and Emily Sharpe; Scotia-Glenville's Sara Duane and Amanda Kot; and Hudson Falls' Nicole Wojtowecz and Ellie Gonyeau.

In addition to its four first-team all-stars, Johnstown also had four players earn second-team honors.

Seniors Lindsay Brandt, Carissa O'Brien, Jenna Hohenforst and Alyssa Pertell all were named to the second team for the Lady Bills.

Pertell posted 13 shutouts this season and allowed just eight goals for a 0.42 goals-against average.

Brandt, O'Brien and Hohenforst anchored the Lady Bills defense. Brandt posted three goals and two assists, O'Brien had two goals and two assists, and Hohenforst had one assists this season.

Gloversville senior midfielder Chamberlain and senior forward Jade Persch also earned second-team honors.

Also named to the second team were Queensbury's Christie Raymond, Maddie Nelson and Mahrukh Naqvi; Glens Falls' Cheyenne Randall and Monica Harvey; South Glens Falls' Courtney Coons and Olivia Higgins; Scotia-Glenville's Ali Stuart and Taylor Santabarbara; and Hudson Falls' Hannah Girard and Mary Kill.

Johnstown senior forward Alexis Swatt was named to the honorable-mention team after finishing the season with 10 goals and six assists.

Senior defender Jessica Carbone, sophomore goalie Bailey Pieniazek and sophomore forward Whytne Stover earned honorable-mention status for Gloversville.

Also earning honorable-mention honors were Queensbury's Christina Galatioto, Katie Zilka and Carlee Moon; Glens Falls' Jillian Rizzo, Cassidy Lefebvre and Allison Stanley; South Glens Falls' Lauren Yakush, Michaela Regner and Kelsey Baldwin; Scotia-Glenville's Zoe Purvis, Sierra Plemenik and Jessica Pajak; and Hudson Falls' Jessie Johnston.

Foothills Council Field Hockey All-Stars

First Team

Johnstown: Emma Heroth (senior, forward), Ashley Dona (senior, forward), Hope Cerasuolo (junior, forward), Kelsi Barnholt (junior, midfield)

Queensbury: Emily Derway (senior, defense), Samantha Ballard (sophomore, forward)

Glens Falls: Shea Homer (senior, defense), Adair Purner (junior, defense)

South Glens Falls: Katie Washburn (junior, forward), Emily Sharpe (junior, forward)

Scotia-Glenville: Sara Duane (senior, defense), Amanda Kot (junior, midfield)

Gloversville: Jessica DeVoe (senior, defense), Kacie Handy (junior, midfield)

Hudson Falls: Nicole Wojtowecz (junior, goalie), Ellie Gonyeau (senior, forward)

Second Team

Johnstown: Lindsay Brandt (senior, defense), Carissa O'Brien (senior, defense), Alyssa Pertell (senior, goalie), Jenna Hohenforst (senior, defense)

Queensbury: Christie Raymond (sophomore, midfield), Maddie Nelson (sophomore, forward/midfield), Mahrukh Naqvi (senior, midfield)

Glens Falls: Cheyenne Randall (sophomore, forward), Monica Harvey (junior, forward)

South Glens Falls: Courtney Coons (senior, forward), Olivia Higgins (sophomore, forward)

Scotia-Glenville: Ali Stuart (junior, defense), Taylor Santabarbara (junior, midfield)

Gloversville: Alysha Chamberlain (senior, midfield), Jade Persch (senior, forward)

Hudson Falls: Hannah Girard (senior, defense), Mary Kill (senior, midfield)

Honorable Mention

Johnstown: Alexis Swatt (senior, forward)

Queensbury: Carlee Moon (sophomore, defense), Christina Galatioto (freshman, goalie), Katie Zilka (sophomore, midfield)

Glens Falls: Jillian Rizzo (freshman, midfield), Cassidy Lefebvre (sophomore, midfield), Allison Stanley (junior, forward)

South Glens Falls: Lauren Yakush (junior, midfield), Michaela Regner (sophomore, goalie), Kelsey Baldwin (junior, midfield)

Scotia-Glenville: Zoe Purvis (freshman, midfield), Sierra Plemenik (senior, midfield), Jessica Pajak (senior, midfield)

Gloversville: Jessica Carbone (senior, defense), Bailey Pieniazek (sophomore, goalie), Whytne Stover (sophomore, forward)

Hudson Falls: Jessie Johnson (sophomore, forward)



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web