Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Home RSS

FFCS boys capture Grout title

October 7, 2012
By The Leader-Herald ( , The Leader Herald

SCHENECTADY - The Fonda-Fultonville boys cross-country team placed five runners in the top 21 spots to claim the Division C boys varsity championship at the annual Grout Invitational Saturday at Central Park.

Matt Hoffman led the Braves with his fourth-place finish in 14:12.4 over the 2.75-mile course.

Tyler Angioli was eighth in 14:34.30, followed by Jimmy Westman (10th/14:39.2), Cameron Gilligan (12th/14:49.3) and Omijah Piening (21st/15:28.8).

The Braves edged Rhinebeck for the title, 55-71, while Broadalbin-Perth nipped Mekeel Christian Academy for third 122-125.

Greg Bogdan paced Broadalbin-Perth with his fifth-place run in 14:21.5. Matthew Dyer (22nd/15:29.5), Alex Hitrick (28th/15:37.7), Patrick Brown (30th/15:41.6) and Nicolai Murphy (40th/16:11.9) round out the scorers for B-P.

In the Division I boys varsity race, Gloversville's John Knox placed third with his time of 14:04.22. He was joined by Alex Gifford, who placed 10th in 14:27.04, Jack Hayes (29th/15:10.44), Phil Meher (43rd/15:41.434) and Hunter Marshall (48th/15:55.72) to give the Huskies a sixth-place finish with 128 points.

Johnstown placed eighth in the Division I race with 243 points.

Daeshan Buseck led the Sir Bills with his 28th-place finish in 15:09.71. He was joined in the scoring by Sam Brunetto (50th/15:58.17), Eric Brower (54th/16:11.35), Tyler Askew (61st/16:58.13) and Aaron Alvarez (63rd/17:05.74).

In the girls Division C varsity race, Fonda-Fultonville's Jamie Kasza was first into the chute with her time of 16:23.54 over the 2.75-mile course.

Joining Kasza in claiming the runner-up trophy in the division with 77 points were Kim Geniti (6/17:21.98), Samantha Phelps (14th/17:58.91), Kacie Hunter (32nd/19:08.59), and Carly Littlejohn (37th/19:22.76).

Broadalbin-Perth placed sixth in the division, which was won by Schuylerville with 40 points.

Montana Smith paced the Lady Patriots with her 15th-place finish in 18:04.44. Coreena Monroe was 26th in 18:46.49, followed by Victoria Opalka (31st/19:04.95), Alex Opalka (46th/20:04.46) and Christa Decker (47th/20:12.50).

In the Division I girls race Morgan Rienhardt paced Gloversville with her 29th-place finish in 17:55.87. She was joined in the scoring by Brittany Craven (34/18:11/26), Sara Ambrosino (40/18:57.54), Emily Ambrosino (42nd/19:02.61) and Haley Schuyler (47th/19:25.84).

Gloversville placed sixth in the team standings with 176 points. Cornwall won the division over Guilderland by one point, 46-47.

The Johnstown girls ran for individual honors in the Division II race. Skylar Swatt led the Lady Bills with her 40thplace finish in 19:03.9, while Emily Fettinger was 43rd in 19:19.70 and Cheyenne Dacorsi was 67th in 21:54.90.

Also competing for the Fonda-Fultonville boys were Dalton Hunter (36th/15:59.80) and Dylan DeSorbo (38th/16:01.3), while Hunter Martin (43rd/16:27.1) and Henry Caughey (67th/17:34.1) round out the runners for Broadalbin-Perth. In the Division I race, Matt Rivera placed 60th for Gloversville in 16:49.21, while Cameron Roten placed 67th in 17:49.88

Also competing in the girls Division C race for Fonda-Fultonville was Katie Wisniewski who placed 42nd in 19:36.51), while Renee Bellinger was 53rd in 21:06.74 for Broadalbin-Perth.

In the Division I girls race, Gloversville's Katie Senzio placed 52nd in 19:51.79.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web