Busy election year for Fulton County

Mayoral races scheduled for Gloversville, Johnstown

JOHNSTOWN — Glove Cities mayoral races are set in the November general election, with this week’s filings of Fulton County designating election petitions by candidates.

Candidates filed their petitions from Monday through Thursday. Fulton County will experience a heavy local election year in 2021, with roughly 73 political offices up for grabs.

Local races in the coming year include three countywide offices, numerous supervisor and town board spots, and the mayors of the cities of Gloversville and Johnstown.

Primary Day is June 22. General Election Day is Nov. 2.

Independent candidates have from May 18-25 to file their petitions to get on the general election ballot in November.

Countywide, voters will decide on the 10-year seat of County Court Judge/Surrogate Polly A. Hoye, a Republican.

She is retiring from the bench at the end of the year.

Republican-Conservative Fulton County District Attorney Chad Brown is seeking the County Court judgeship and is currently not opposed.

The four-year term of Fulton County Clerk Linda Kollar, a Republican, is up in 2021. Leisa D’Amore is a Republican candidate, unopposed.

The four-year seat of Republican Fulton County Treasurer Terry Blodgett is also due to expire at the end of 2021. A two-way Republican primary is shaping up for that position between Cindy Albertine and Heather Scribner.

Elsewhere in Fulton County’s cities and towns:

— City of Gloversville:

A two-way general election battle is brewing for mayor between incumbent Democratic Mayor Vincent DeSantis and Republican challenger William Rowback Jr.. current councilman-at-large.

For councilman-at-large, a two-way Republican primary is set between Wayne Peters and Arthur Simonds. The nominee will face Democrat Lashawn Hawkins in the general election.

Republican Water Board candidates are Matthew Capano, James Isabella and James Robinson.

In the First Ward. incumbent Democrats Marie Born and Marcia Weiss are unopposed for supervisor and councilperson, respectively.

In the Second Ward, incumbent Democratic Supervisor Frank Lauria Jr. is unopposed.

Incumbent 3rd Ward Supervisor John Blackmon, a Republican, is unopposed. But the Third Ward will see a general election race between incumbent Democratic Councilwoman Elizabeth Batchelor and Republican challenger Dale McGrath.

In the Fourth Ward, Republican incumbent Supervisor Charles Potter faces no opposition.

Also unopposed on the city slate are: incumbent Democratic 5th Ward Supervisor Gregory Young, incumbent Republican 5th Ward Councilman Jay Zarrelli, and incumbent Republican 6th Ward Supervisor Warren Greene.

— City of Johnstown:

The city of Johnstown voters will elect a new mayor in 2021, as incumbent Republican Mayor Vern Jackson is calling it quits.

A two-way general election tilt for mayor is set between Republican 3rd Ward Councilwoman Amy Praught and Democratic challenger Michael Rose.

The four-year term of longtime City Treasurer Michael Gifford is expiring, and he’s retiring. Vying for the position in a two-way GOP primary will be Bradley Hayner and Thomas Herr. The victor faces Democrat Thomas Suydam in the general election.

Water Board seats in the city of Johnstown are available, although it is unclear who will fill them. Two candidates — Republicans Ralph Marotta and Mark Empie — filed petitions but the Fulton County Board of Elections ruled their petitions invalid.

Elsewhere in the city, Republican Scott Jeffers is unopposed for councilman-at-large.

Also unopposed in the city are these candidates: Republican Jared Goderie for First Ward supervisor, Republican Michael Kinowski for Second Ward supervisor, Republican Scott Miller for Second Ward councilman, Republican Jack Callery for Third Ward supervisor, Republican Michael Bowman for Fourth Ward supervisor, and Democrat Maxwell Spritzer for Fourth Ward councilman.

— Town of Bleecker:

Republican incumbent Supervisor David Howard faces no challenges for re-election.

Other Republican candidates are: Toni Johnson for town town clerk/tax collector; Darrin Smith and David Bartholomew for councilmen, and Paul Brink for highway superintendent.

— Town of Broadalbin:

Supervisor Sheila Perry is stepping down, and vying for her seat in a two-way Republican primary will be Sean Focht and Bruce Van Genderen.

Unopposed are these Republican candidates: Cherly Briggs — town clerk; William Jennings — town justice; Douglas Kissinger and David Bogardus — councilmen; Michael Greco — assessor; and Linda Eastman — tax collector.

— Town of Caroga:

A three-way Republican primary is slated for two available Town Board seats between: James Long, John Glenn, and Barbara DeLuca.

Others unopposed this election year are these Republicans: Scott Horton — supervisor; Linda Gilbert — town clerk/tax collector; and Larry Voght — highway superintendent.

— Town of Ephratah:

No one is on the ballot for town justice, which is available.

Incumbent Republican town councilpersons facing no opposition are Eleanor Smith and George Cosselman.

— Town of Johnstown:

The town has two councilperson seats on the ballot in the fall, and facing no challenge are Republican Paul Catucci and Joel Wilson.

— Town of Mayfield:

The town has two councilperson seats on the ballot in the fall. A Republican primary is set between Jack Putman, Ralph Desiderio and Vincent Coletti. A Democratic candidate, Roberta Ricciardi, awaits in the general election.

— Town of Northampton:

Running unopposed are these Republicans: James Groff — supervisor; Elaine Mihalik — town clerk; John Farquhar — town justice; Darryl Roose and Colleen Cordone — councilpersons; Ken Cramer — highway superintendent; and Robin Wilson — tax collector.

— Town of Oppenheim:

A two-way GOP primary for councilman is set between Kathleen Montana and Nicholas Vasil. Democrat Dennis Gray will also be on the general election ballot for two available Town Board seats.

Facing no challenges are these Republican candidates: Cynthia Breh — supervisor; Joanne Capek-Young — town justice; Scott DeNinno Jr. –highway superintendent; and Linda Peets — tax collector.

— Town of Perth:

A two-way Republican primary is scheduled between Robert Fisher Jr. and Byron Barker. Democrat Timothy A. Korona is also trying to grab one of two available councilperson positions.

Incident Republican-Conservative Town Justice Wayne McNeil is unopposed.

Also unopposed is Democrat David Dopp for highway superintendent.

— Town of Stratford:

A general election race is set between incumbent Democratic Supervisor Heather Van Denburgh and Republican challenger Richard Fogarty.

Unopposed are Republican Patricia AW Dineen for town clerk/tax collector; and Republican Scott Seeley for councilman.


Starting at $4.15/week.

Subscribe Today