BOS appoint election commissioners

JOHNSTOWN — The Fulton County Board of Supervisors on Monday appointed the two major parties’ election commissioners to two-year terms, including a new Democratic Party commissioner.

The appointments were on the recommendations of each party’s formal committees, and terms run until Dec. 31, 2022.

Supervisors appointed G. Jeremiah Ryan of Gloversville as Fulton County Board of Elections’ Democratic election commissioner. He replaces John Zawadzki. The vote for Ryan was 18-1, with Republican Northampton Supervisor James Groff voting no.

Long-time Republican Election Commissioner Lee Hollenbeck of Broadalbin was also reappointed.

County Administrative Officer Jon Stead told the board during its online meeting that it was acting on very last-minute resolutions.

“Neither party got us our information under the deadline,” he said.

He also commented several times on the pitfalls of holding Zoom meetings online, noting “there is a tremendous amount of background noise from some of the phones.”

In other board action, supervisors voted in blocks to approve numerous other appointments made during the session.

Appointed as members of the Alternatives to Incarceration Advisory Board for 2021 were: Wayne McNeil, Roger Paul, Polly Hoye, Stead, Richard Giardino, Keith Ackernecht, Ernest Gagnon, Daniel Izzo, Groff, Cheryl Galarneau, Dawn Ackernecht, Marie Born, Amanda Nellis, John Armstrong, Gerald McAuliffe, James Riley and Cory Dalmata.

Various people — consisting of fire chiefs and acting chiefs — were appointed members of the Fulton County Fire Advisory Board for this year. Ten persons were named to the county Fire Investigation Team, and nine people were reappointed as deputy fire coordinators for 2021.

Gloversville 1st Ward Supervisor Marie Born told the board she wished to fill a vacancy on the Fulton County Local Emergency Planning Committee, although she noted some inactivity by the group.

“There hasn’t been a meeting in several years,” she said.

Eighteen members were appointed to the county Hazardous Materials Response Team for 2021.

Oppenheim Supervisor Cynthia Breh was appointed Fulton County’s representative to the Fulton County Jury Board through this year. State Judiciary Law requires counties establish such a board, which meets at least once annually. Breh was also appointed as a member of the county Law Library Board of Trustees for 2021.

The board appointed the following Fulton County Traffic Safety Board members: Matthew VanValkenburgh, Steven Santa Maria, Sherry Brown, Denise Frederick, Margaret Luck, Giardino, Born, Chad Brown, Mark Yost, Eric Johnson, Rachel Truckenmiller, Anthony Reppenhagen and Michael Garavelli.

Appointed as members of the Fulton County Planning Board were: John Kessler, Walter Fitzgerald, Frank Lauria, James Anderson, Peter Goderie, Jerry Moore, Frederick Bochenek, Karen Smith and David C. Rackmyre Jr.

Joseph DeCristofaro of Johnstown was named to the Capital District Off-Track Betting Corp. Board of Directors.

In a non-personnel-related move, the board authorized disposal of a broken desk in the Public Health Department.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)


Starting at $4.75/week.

Subscribe Today