GJSD board keeps Tallon as president

New Greater Johnstown School District Board of Education member David D'Amore reads his oath during swearing in at the board's online reorganizational meeting Tuesday night. (The Leader-Herald/Michael Anich)

JOHNSTOWN — The top two Greater Johnstown School District Board of Education officers were reelected during the board’s online organizational meeting Tuesday night.

The board voted 9-0 to retain Christopher Tallon for another year as board president. His current three-year board term runs until June 30, 2022.

“Just so you know, my wife won’t be sending any thank you cards,” he kidded fellow board members.

The board also voted 8-0, with one abstention by Kathryn Zajicek, to reelect Zajicek as board vice president for another year. Her current three-year board term runs until June 30, 2021.

“Thank you, everyone,” Zajicek told the board.

The board’s organizational meeting contained many appointments and routine annual action items.

Two newly-elected board members — David D’Amore and write-in choice Joyel Richardson — were administered the oath of office. Both will serve three-year terms until June 30, 2023. Also sworn in for another term was Beverly Alves.

“Thanks for stepping up to the plate,” Tallon told D’Amore.

In other organizational meeting action:

∫ The oath of office was administered to Interim Superintendent Karen Geelan of Springville. She plans to retire Sept. 30.

∫ Other appointments made by the board included: District Clerk Larraina Carpenter, District Treasurer and Chief Accounting Officer Melissa Baker, Ryan Auty as school tax collector, Betsy Thomas as school lunch reviewing officer, Lesa Levin as district claims auditor; David Wood as Asbestos Hazard Emergency Response Act designated person; Dr. Maruthi Sunkara of Nathan Littauer Hospital as school physician at $22,000 annually; attorney M. Cornelia Cahill of Barclay Damon as bond counsel for the 2020-21 school year; Melissa Baker as auditor for the Extra-Classroom Activities Funds and Sir Bills Athletic Fund; and treasurers Judy Loucks and Rebecca Hart-DeMagistris.

∫ Girvin & Ferlazzo was appointed as legal counsel, and the Honeywell Law Firm PLLC as special legal counsel.

∫ R.G. Timbs Inc. was appointed as financial advisor to the district; and West & Company CPAs was appointed for external auditing services.

∫ The board established days and times for board meetings for the 2020-21 school year.

“We may add in more meetings if we need to,” Tallon said.

∫ The Leader-Herald was named official district newspaper for notices, including those required for bids, for the coming school year.

∫ These depositories for school district funds were designated: NBT Bank, JP Morgan-Chase, Citizens Bank and Bank of America.

∫ Numerous independent evaluators for special education were approved by the board.

∫ Named as lead evaluators of principals for the 2020-21 school year were Geelan, Ruthie Cook and Nicole Panton. Appointed as lead evaluators for teachers were: Scott Hale, Christina Lais, Robert Kraemer, Corrine Cotter and Nicole Lent.

Several other authorizations were granted, and resolutions passed regarding records retention, mileage reimbursement, facilities use, a policy, standard work days, the substitute pay schedule and tuition rates.

Michael Anich covers Johnstown and Fulton County news. He can be reached at manich@leaderherald.com.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)