Fulton County Board of Supervisors organizational meeting Jan. 2

JOHNSTOWN –The Fulton County Board of Supervisors recently set the date of its annual organizational meeting for Jan. 2 at the County Office Building.

The board set the meeting for 10 a.m. that day in the second-floor Supervisor’s Chambers.

New supervisors to be sworn in that day are: Johnstown 4th Ward Supervisor-Elect Michael Bowman and town of Caroga Supervisor-Elect Scott Horton, both Republicans; and town of Stratford Supervisor-Elect Heather VanDenburgh, a Democrat.

Gloversville 6th Ward Supervisor Warren Greene, 2019 board vice chairman, will most likely be tapped as 2020 Board of Supervisors chairman during the meeting.

In other recent business, the Board of Supervisors awarded a low bid to Binghamton-based Mirabito Energy Products for unleaded gasoline for the county’s central fuel depots at the County Services Complex and the Solid Waste Department.

Low bid for 2020 went to Mirabito for $1.79 per gallon for the County Services Complex –100,000 gallons; and $1.94 per gallon to the Solid Waste Department — 6,000 gallons.

In reports given to the board, Broadalbin Supervisor Sheila Perry reported on a recent Inter-County Legislative Committee of the Adirondacks meeting hosted by Saratoga County. She said she and another Fulton County representative toured the county’s newly-constructed Public Safety Building.

“It was just an amazing tour,” Perry said.

In his Fulton County Soil and Water Conservation District board meeting report, Greene said National Grid was scheduled to do overhead electrical work at the Tryon Technology Park in Perth. He said the Soil and Water Conservation District won’t be able to start its work at the park until January.

The board voted to formally appropriate about $1.54 million in Fulton County’s sponsor share for Fulton-Montgomery Community College for fiscal year 2020.

Fulton County will allocate these four identical $386,455 installments to FMCC: retroactive to September 2019; January 2020; March 2020 and June 2020.

Supervisors also passed resolutions accepting reports on: returned school taxes, town and city accounts; returned village taxes in Broadalbin, Mayfield, Northville and Dolgeville; the Committee on Footing of Assessment Rolls, Committee of Equalization, and the Committee on Apportionment.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)