District honors outgoing board and staff

Retiring elementary teacher Patricia Robinson, who had 24 years of service, is recognized by Greater Johnstown School District Supeerintendent Patricia Kilburn at Thursday's Board of Education meeting at Johnstown High School. (The Leader-Herald/Michael Anich)

JOHNSTOWN — The Greater Johnstown School District Board of Education honored nine district staff retirees and three outgoing board members Thursday night at Johnstown High School.

Superintendent Patricia Kilburn had those 2018-19 retirees in attendance come up and accept a certificate and gift in the auditorium, to start off the meeting.

Retiring Director of Facilities Leo Loveless, who wasn’t present, was recognized by Kilburn as “conscientious and very caring.”

“Leo had 32 years of service in the district,” Kilburn said. “He began in 1987.”

Other retirees honored were these retirees: MariJo Quinn, elementary teacher; Patricia Robinson, elementary teacher; Ann Marie Brand, cook; Sherry Ermie, school secretary; Nancy Gill, account clerk typist; Edward Shults, custodian; Sherry Simonds, administrative assistant; and Ann Stefka, administrative secretary.

Outgoing Board of Education members honored were: President Kathy Dougherty, who didn’t attend; Vice President Greg Truckenmiller; and member Jennifer Sponnoble.

Kilburn said of Dougherty: “She’s certainly committed to the children of our district and the community.”

In regular personnel action Thursday:

∫ The board approved the resignation of Kristin DuGuay, English teacher, effective June 30.

∫ Steven Morrison was appointed as a substitute custodial worker for 10 months per year, at $11.10 per hour, retroactive to May 29.

∫ The board passed a motion to appoint Amy Hale as a tutor for the 2019-20 school year, retroactive to June 3.

∫ The probationary appointment of Sarah Sweet as director of special education, pupil services and special programs was made. Her annual salary will be $88,000, pursuant to the Johnstown Administrators’ Association Collective Bargaining Agreement, effective July 15, 2019 running through July 14, 2023.

∫ Appointments of Pleasant Avenue Summer Jump Start Program staff were made. They are: Deb Ammann, teacher, at $35 per hour; Katrina Bevington, teacher, at $35 per hour; Sherri Salatel, teacher, at $35 per hour: and Brenda Butler, teaching assistant, at $12.50 per hour. The program will run Monday through Thursday, from 8:30 to 11:30 a.m., from Aug. 19 through 29.

Michael Anich covers Johnstown and Fulton County news. He can be reached at manich@leaderherald.com.