Montgomery County leaders chosen

District 4 Legislator Robert Headwell, left, was appointed as chairman of the Montgomery County Legislature for a second year in a row at the Legislature's organizational meeting on Tuesday. Center is legislative clerk Cheryl Reese, and on the right is newly elected Montgomery County Clerk Brittany Kolbe. (The Leader-Herald/Briana O'Hara)

FONDA — The Montgomery County Legislature held its organizational meeting on Tuesday during which legislators elected the chairman and deputy chairman for 2019.

District 4 Legislator Robert Headwell was elected as chairman for a second year in a row with the annual salary of $15,000. Last year the vote was unanimous, however, this year District 9 Legislator Robert Purtell opposed.

Prior to the vote, a motion to amend the resolution to name District 2 Legislator Brian Sweet as chairman was made, but never voted on.

District 3 Legislator Roy Dimond then made the motion to name Headwell as chairman.

Sweet addressed rumors of him having a “hidden agenda” if he were elected as chairman.

“My agenda would be to continue the communication not only between all legislators, but also between the executive branch,” Sweet said. “I’d like to make sure as a legislature we keep everyone, including ourselves, fiscally responsible as we have been doing for the past few years. I’d like to make sure all legislators have an equal voice in representation of their constituents.”

Purtell spoke as to why he would be supporting Sweet for chairman.

He said there are three times during the year that are stressful for legislators which are budget time, election time and the election of the chair.

“In this case we have a chairman who would like to be chairman again. It’s not unheard of, but it’s not what’s been done in the past,” Purtell said.

He said whoever is chairman, needs to make an improvement and appreciate the values of the position.

“My expectation as a legislator of 2019 is that the chairman work strategically setting goals, increasing communication, influencing others to reduce cost, reduce the dependence of the fund balance, balance the budget and increase the fund balance,” Purtell said.

District 6 Legislator John Duchessi was again unanimously elected as deputy chairman at the annual salary of $10,000.

Following the appointment of the chairman and deputy chairman, resolutions were made designating depositories and newspapers for 2019

This year depositories for county funds will be NBT Bank, JP Morgan Chase Bank, National Union Bank Kinderhook, Green County Commercial Bank and Key Bank.

This year, The Recorder and Courier-Standard Enterprise were designated as the newspapers to publish county matters including local laws, legal notices, advertisements for bids and other matters required by law to be published.