School board accepts resignations

JOHNSTOWN — Resignations and retirements topped personnel items approved by the Greater Johnstown School District Board of Education last week at Johnstown High School.

The board accepted the resignation of Kelsey Heck as extended leave substitute health teacher, effective Aug. 31, 2018; She had been appointed in June for a period from Sept. 4, 2018 through Jan. 25, 2019.

Patrick Williams, elementary teacher, resigned effective Aug. 31. The resignation was accepted by the board.

Board members approved the resignation of Elizabeth Phillips as a teaching assistant, effective Aug. 31.

The board approved the resignation of Bryan Yager as special education teacher, effective Aug. 31. The board also accepted his resignation as cross country head coach, effective Aug. 31. Yager had been appointed in June for the 2018-19 school year.

August retirements of cook Ann Marie Brand, and school secretary Sherry Ermie were accepted by the board.

Board members appointed Zachary Viscosi as a long-term substitute special education teacher – at $110.40 per day – effective Sept. 4. His appointment runs through Sept. 28.

Beth Connelie was appointed as a long-term substitute elementary teacher at $110.40 per day, effective Sept. 4 and running through Oct. 5.

The board appointed Kenneth Hoefs as an extended leave substitute health teacher at an annual $44,805 prorated salary, effective Sept. 4 and running through January 25, 2019.

A co-curricular advisor named for the 2018-19 school year was Regan Jobin as a fall cheerleading advisor at a stipend of $1,158.

Other appointments by the board included: Cathy Ellis, account clerk typist; permanent appointment of Alexis Livingstone, teacher aide; substitute appointment of James VanHorne, custodian; and the substitute appointment of Mariah Cook, food service helper.

The board approved sixth period course stipends of $3,500 each to the following for the 2018-19 school year: Katie Catucci, English 9; Anne Bagot, global studies 10; Jennifer VonderHeide, global studies 9; Jeffrey Kolakowski, U.S. history; Heather McGuire, global studies 10; Catherine Clemence, geometry; Gary Osarczuk, earth science; Ronald Savoie, DDP 1&2; Erin Kelly, studio art 1&2; Andy LaCoppola, music theory; Karen Dufel, GEM CT; Mark Jones- seventh grade science; Elif Ipek- seventh grade math; Gloria Bruno- seventh grade social studies; Matt Greco- seventh grade ELA.

Heidi Bolebruch, FTE Living Environment Lab, was given a $1,750 stipend.

Creation of a full-time special education teacher, effective Sept. 1, was approved.

The board reappointed Holly Gatto from the seniority/recall list to an elementary teacher position, effective Sept. 1. She will be reinstated with two years seniority.

A stipend for Jessica Mucilli as chairperson of the Committee on PreSchool Special Education for the 2018-19 school year was corrected from $2,180 annually to $2,150.

Michael Anich covers Johnstown and Fulton County news. He can be reached at