B-P seniors slated to meet on Jan. 23

BROADALBIN — The Broadalbin Senior Citizens met on Thursday at the First Presbyterian Church in Broadalbin with 63 present, which included new members and guests. The prayer was offered by chaplain Marsha Prokop. In the absence of the Vice President June Zea, President Toni Hallenbeck led the group in the Pledge of Allegiance. Hallenbeck called the meeting to order and did the roll call.

Nancy Weiss gave the secretary’s report and read two thank you cards sent to the members. Jennifer Gilston gave the treasures’s report and the year-end report. Marilyn Quinn announced the birthdays for January and the members sang “Happy Birthday.”

In the absence of Janet Austin, sunshine committee, Hallenbeck reported one get well card had been sent out.

Program committee: Judy Rosenzweig announced there is a lotto tree drawing to help fund the group’s Christmas party. The year-end report was also read. The seniors will be collecting Christmas cards again this year to send out to the deployed military in the fall.

After the meeting, the group had their New Year’s pizza party. The program committee, Karen Bogusz, Rosenzweig and Hallenbeck provided desserts for the party. Phyllis Kulska provided donations of prizes for the party.

Hallenbeck gave the report for the trip committee and read the year-end report. Dues for this year are now due. The members are to get their money in so the membership rooster can be updated.

Donations were collected for the Broadalbin Ecumenical Church Food Pantry.

The 50-50 winner was Sara Schopmeier. The lotto tree winner was Cathleen Hopper.

The next meeting will be held Jan. 23, at the First Presbyterian Church. Anyone who would like a meal offered by the Office for the Aging at the meeting is to call (518) 736-5650 by 9 a.m. day of the meeting.

The meeting adjourned and the party began. The members had pizza, salad, soft drinks, water and several desserts. The winners from the drawings were Lois Munnelly, Lucy Spencer, Eleonore Campbell, Cathleen Hopper, Susan Peters, Carm Repka, Mike Bollock, Karen Bogusz, Marsha Prokop, Nancy Franks, Bella Mittler and Dale King.